1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temperature

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by luke2702, May 3, 2010.

  1. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2010]
    Properly been posted on here many times! But temperature on car goes up to 90 when sat at lights or just ticking over as soon as i start driving it starts to drop, is this the temp sensor or thermostat?

    Also any links to how too change which is faulty.

    What are the bad points for the car when this is happening?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 31, 2014]

  3. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    60
    [May 3, 2010]
    Thermostat Luke, it's not a major issue now that it's getting warmer but i'd change it. Car will run at its best when its running at 90oC
    #2
  4. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2010]
    cheers sandip, how much and how long to fit them?

    Luke
    #3
  5. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    60
    [May 3, 2010]
    #4
  6. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2010]
    Can only find the gasket no thermostat listed! Ahhhhhhhhhh.....
    #5
  7. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    60
  8. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2010]
    Thanks again Sandip put mine is engine code BAM... Luke
    #7
  9. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    60
    [May 3, 2010]
    It'll be the same Luke, Bolton Audi will sort you out if your unsure:)
    #8
  10. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Just ordered this with gasket and delivery £7.57 bargain!!!!
    #9
  11. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    #10
  12. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Was going to get genuine audi but it was £20.00, cant see there being that much difference between them, fingers crossed....

    Thanks for How to guide...
    #11
  13. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [May 4, 2010]
    I've fitted 3 Euro Car Parts thermostats now, and each one has been spot on!
    #12
  14. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    That sounds good to me, only thing why have you fitted 3 (3 different cars? I hope)
    #13
  15. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [May 4, 2010]
    LOL, fair question.

    Yes, to three different 1.8Ts matey, same thermo to all, one was an A3 and two S3s.
    #14
  16. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Thats a relieve!!! lol
    #15
  17. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    If you doing it yourself, you'll need a bottle or two of G12+ coolant
    #16
  18. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Do you get this from Audi and how much? Thanks
    #17
  19. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    £7
    #18
  20. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Cheers for that bud.....
    #19
  21. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Exactly what would happen if you didn't change it?

    Mine does that too but still runs spot on. Surely the engine temp/oil etc is the same its just reporting a low reading. Will get it replaced next time its in a garage but i don't think its doing any harm?
    #20
  22. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Dont think it does any harm just engine will run better at a constant 90°C and have better fuel consumption.
    #21
  23. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    No harm I guess, just increased fuel consumption. Engine runs richer when it's not up to temp, a faulty thermo is not allowing the engine to get and stay at temp
    #22
  24. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    But the problem may be a faulty temp sender and not thermo. I think thats the likely cause on mine as the economy is fine.
    #23
  25. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]

    Have a look!

    #24
  26. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    I see, will have a go. Though i don't have a temperature control knob... Just the buttons. I assume i can still do it?

    Will look tonight as i'll need to warm it up first. Just printed your post off!
    #25
  27. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    I am going to try this tonight too.....
    #26
  28. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    The recirc button next to "off" ;

    [​IMG]
    #27
  29. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    I sussed it. Looks like it was reading ok but i'll have a look on the way home on a longer run. That may expose thermostat or temp sender fault

    Any other interesting things you can do with the climate controller?
    #28
  30. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    http://www.wak-tt.com/tt/climatecontcodes.htm
    #29
  31. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Excellent, cheers

    It says 49C is malfunction counter for speedometer though and 51C is coolant temp? Yet the instructions say to ignore 51C?
    #30
  32. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [May 4, 2010]
    Bottom line with these queries, this is the rule of thumb:

    If it warms up to temp when stationary and the needle moves about OK, then the temp sensor is OK. It IS reading temp and displaying the data it sees accordingly on the dash.

    If the needle doesn't move at all, or reads lower than 90 all the time, stationary for a while and whilst moving, the sender may be poorly.
    #31
  33. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [May 4, 2010]
    Change the temp and fan speed I believe..... LOL.

    Just pulling your leg. :)
    #32
  34. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    How will i know if this is the right coolant for mine?

    how much is in each bottle?
    #33
  35. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    That is the coolant Audi sells and recommends, £7ish per bootle. Each one is 1.5litres,

    Recommended protection coolant mixture ratios are:

    -25 deg C. = 40% Antifreeze 60% water
    -35 deg C. = 50% Antifreeze 50% water


    Use distilled water to mix and avoid problems. Keep between these ratios. Too little antifreeze may freeze obviously but too much won't cool as well.
    #34
  36. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    How do i test to see how much is in there?

    Thanks
    #35
  37. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]
    When you are changing the stat, you will lose the coolant anyway, so an opportunity to drain it. Get a bucket or what ever, fill with 1.5litres of water and add your coolant, pour in. Fill till the coolant is above the minimum marker on the coolant tank
    #36
  38. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    How much does the coolant system take in litres?

    Just check mine and it is flourescent pink is that right?

    Thanks
    #37
  39. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Monitored the temp on the way home tonight and its reading about 70-80 all the time unless stationary for a while. So it looks like its my thermostat. Cheers for the info finesse.
    #38
  40. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 4, 2010]

    not sure how many litres, last time I put about 3.5 litres, just watch the minimum marker, don't over fill.


    No problem, sort the thermostat, am sure you'll see the difference! I did!!!
    #39
  41. luke2702
    Offline

    luke2702 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 9, 2010]
    Got thermostat changed thanks to help from my neighbour, know sitting at 90 degrees and held under pressure thank god.... One thing i must say if you are doing it yourself make sure you have spare dipstick holder as mine snapped and i had to go and get one from scrappers, only £3 but still a pain....

    Thanks for everyones help with this....
    #40

Share This Page