1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temperature display

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by denzelburner, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last night, the display for my clock and thermometer just turned red, as in backlight, but no info. I was wondering if anyone else has had this, and how to rectify this. It's the display inbetween the speedo and the rev. counter. Got a mind blank at the moment, and can't for the life of me remember the things name :banghead:. I might need to get a new one anyway, as it's doing the typical fade out as it gets warmer, but I'd rather not at the moment.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. audinary

    audinary Complete And Utter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    That'll be the DIS display. Driver Information System. And they all seem to do that..... Mines fine except the top left corner of the topmost part of the display.
    Mind you, one day it couldn't be bothered at all, but came back the next. It may be haunted.
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just turn it off for a few days and it'll be fine. Replacement isn't cheap or simple.
     
  5. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone :happy:
    Does turn it off mean keep the car off, or just the DIS?
     
  6. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just the DIS.

    So far, mine in my 12-year-old car hasn't missed a beat.

    When it does, I'll just install my STACK dash, as far as I'm concerned, the info on the DIS is useless, I'd prefer oil pressure, fuel pressure, and on a 1,8T, boost pressure.

    Might as well rename the damn thing "DUI" - Driver's Useless Information.
     
  7. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol, how do I turn it off? is it just a case of removing the wires from the back? Are there any replacements for the DUI?
    Mind you, it does give me advance warning as to wether i need to put my hat on or not before I exit the vehicle. A very important thing in my eyes, lol.
     
  8. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    dont you just use the DIS controls (up or down) on the wiper stalk until it goes off? or the reset button underneath?
     
  9. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    i think the reset button underneath turns it off if you just press it once rather than holding it down.
     
  10. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have any buttons on my stalks, it really is a DUI. It doesn't have a trip computer or anything like that, it just tells, or told me the temperature and something else, but can't remember now. It really is that usefull. I just want to sort it out as it's bugging the hell out of me :banghead:
     
  11. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    yours must be an SE then? Just has 4 large indicator lamps in the middle of the dash with two smaller lines under it?
     
  12. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    5
    Oh, I see.

    Just an ambient temperature display then.
     
  13. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, to both. Is there any replacement?
     
  14. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    i'd get vagcom on the instrument cluster to see if the sensor has failed or not.
     
  15. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    5
    Unlikely to be the sensor.

    If the sensor's even unplugged at the front, it just shows a max value on the display, rather than nothing.
     
  16. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    5
    Cost is about £110 from memory.
     
  17. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blimey, just for an external temperature display!
     
  18. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm afraid so, Denzel.
     
  19. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Again, is there anything else i can upgrade to?
     
  20. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    5
    There are very little options out there.

    The only other option is to retro-fit a cluster with the full DIS system.
    A costly undertaking, as it involves a lot of wiring.

    It also comes with its own set of gremlins, as the DIS display is notorious for premature failure.

    Only option really, is to replace the ambient temperature display, or just get used to seeing it in "black hole" mode.
     
  21. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    does it or did look like this?

    seems to be different to my petrol engine DIS as mine is a one whole unit like this
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, apart from mine doesn't seem to have the bit splitting the temperature reading from the screen showing door open/ low fuel tec, and also less the auto box numbers.
     
  24. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    take a pic and post it up
     
  25. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I get the phot's on here? I've got them in my desktop at the moment.
     
  26. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    you need to upload them to photobucket or imageshack, then paste the URL in here!
     
  27. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    what he said^^^^ dont forget to use there are 3 options under the pic once you have loaded it on photobucket
    e.g. [IMG]www.photbucket.com/etcetctetc
     
  28. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here we go, I think:
    [​IMG]

    and:

    [​IMG]

    My mistake, it has got the little split thing, just never noticed it before, oops :redface:
     
  29. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    great you got there in the end, what shows up in the top screen? looks like you dis in only featured on diesels my pic was from a facelift 2.5 tdi.
     
  30. denzelburner

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    the box above the red one shows the low fuel/ low oil/ doors open etc. It's the red box that seems to have given up the ghost. Mine is a facelift 2.5tdi one too, and pretty much the same, bar the auto display. All i can remember is the Temperature is shown, now can't remember what else there was, which is so frustrating :banghead:
     

Share This Page