1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temp gauge playing up again.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by lnewland, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. lnewland
    Offline

    lnewland Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    Right fitted a new thermostat a month ago and been working fine but for the last couple of days the the temp gauge has stopped working again, either doesn't move or goes to 90 then drops off again. Could this be the stat again if so what could be causing it.
    #1
  2. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    Have you changed the temp sender?. Its very common for these to fail too causing a bad signal meaning the gauge readings are all over the shop.

    its literally 5 minutes to change it and about 13 quid for the part from GSF/Euro etc.
    #2
  3. camscockle20vT
    Offline

    camscockle20vT The stigs ugly brother

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    56
    This may be the problem as the gsf part is more prone to breaking, id buy the one from audi for a few pound extra and atleast it should last.
    #3
  4. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    Think there are varying 'grades' you can buy.... including really bad ones off ebay for a few quid. Pretty sure mine was a Bosch one from GSF..... been OK for a couple of years but fingers crossed!. I'm boycotting GSF now you have to register to look at their website so get one from Audi or Euro :p
    #4
  5. lnewland
    Offline

    lnewland Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    If it was the temp sensor then would it not show up on vagcom
    #5
  6. a3tdi2001
    Offline

    a3tdi2001 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    11
    Don't think it would necessarily throw a fault code. It looks like the coolant gauge sensor. You need to get the proper part from Audi with the plastic clip that goes with it. Not worth the hassle of going for a pattern part for a few quid to be honest.
    #6
  7. lnewland
    Offline

    lnewland Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not had the chance to change anything yet but after driving it around today I checked the pipes to and from radiator. The top is as hot as expected but the bottom was Luke warm, should it be as cool as that
    #7
  8. jasona3turbo
    Offline

    jasona3turbo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    mine does this too it shows around 90 degrees then will randomly drop to 60 ?? is it a common problem on these??
    #8
  9. camscockle20vT
    Offline

    camscockle20vT The stigs ugly brother

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    56
    Correct dude, iv gotta do my stat but might aswel get the sender done aswel. Aswel as a shed load of other replacement parts.
    #9
  10. jasona3turbo
    Offline

    jasona3turbo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    what would the problem be on mine then? what do i need to replace?
    #10
  11. lnewland
    Offline

    lnewland Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    PHP:
     do the stat first 
    #11

Share This Page