1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temp gauge not working

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by skinz, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    My temp gauge has stopped working, I think it could b the thermostat or the temp sender but not sure where these are, any help would b much appreciaated, or if u have any other ideas what it could would help cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 22, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    If its the thermostat, the gauge will rise if the cars left idling.

    To test it, drive around for 10mins or so, then park up and leave the engine running for 5 mins. If the gauge comes up the stats gone, if it doesnt its probably the temp sensor.
    #2
  4. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    Looks like it's the temp sender, where is it on the AEB engine
    #3
  5. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    the dash temp gauge is for the water temp not the oil
    #4
  6. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    its on the back of the cylinder head, sticks out of a plastic elbow with a four pin plug on it.
    #5
  7. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    cheers found it, had a quick look on fleebay an cant seem to find 1 that matches mine
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    What year is your car?
    #7
  9. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    n reg 96
    #8
  10. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    Hmm ETKA is a bit vague.

    Its either 058919501A (black) or 059919501 (blue)

    It suggests the black one is used upto the end of chassis code T, then the blue one is used from V onwards.
    #9
  11. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    the stump bit is really thick and its black (that sounds really wrong lol), all the 1's i've seen are thin
    #10
  12. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    #11
  13. murdoch
    Offline

    murdoch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    mine seems to have stopped working for the last week or two aswell, although it climbed to 65c this morning ?? am i looking at a thermostat replacement?
    #12
  14. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    nether of them 2 look like mine, ill put a pick up in a bit
    #13
  15. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    Murdoch: as i said above, have a drive to get some heat into it then leave it idling for 5-10mins and see if the temp comes up to 90.

    If it does, its the stat.
    #14
  16. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    Can't seem to add pics
    #15
  17. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    upload them to photobucket or imageshack then post the link here?
    #16
  18. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    At the bottom where it says posting permission it says I'm not aloud 2 add attachments, does that mean I can't put pics on, cause I click when I click on the image icon it don't do anything
    #17
  19. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    Mine had similar symptoms. Changed the temp sender and it was fine.

    Also changed the thermostat, just to make sure!
    #18
  20. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 19, 2011]
    dont bother trying to upload them to the forum. Upload them to photobucket or image shack and paste in the link.
    #19
  21. murdoch
    Offline

    murdoch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 20, 2011]
    did so last night, no change in the reading, didn't go above 60c !
    #20
  22. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 20, 2011]
    sounds like it could be the sensor then. Do you have climate control?

    If so, press and hold recirc, and press the up arrow, the display will change to 1c, use temp +/- to change it to read 49c then press recirc again.

    The display will then change to show the real coolant temp. See what that shows?
    #21
  23. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 20, 2011]
    Went Audi today and took my sensor with me an they said they had 2 order the sensor in and gave me the part no. Which is 058 919 501a which is the 1 u said but it don't look like mine
    #22
  24. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 20, 2011]
    could be revised over the years?
    #23
  25. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
  26. murdoch
    Offline

    murdoch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 20, 2011]
    ooh ooh, i like playing with buttons!! I will have a look at it tomorrow :) cheers
    #25
  27. murdoch
    Offline

    murdoch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 21, 2011]
    had a go with the climate thingy, and it read the same as the gauge, never went above 62c, is that a new sender or thermostat?
    #26
  28. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 21, 2011]
    did it sensibly climb up to 62 though?

    Ie start at 10-15c then climb steadily?

    Also, switch the AC off when testing, as with the AC on it runs the radiator fan all the time, and this will further reduce the temperature if the stat is stuck open.
    #27
  29. murdoch
    Offline

    murdoch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 21, 2011]
    I don't know, because I only got a chance to set it up at some roadworks, by which time it was up to 62c.Thanks, I will try that tomorrow, and have the ac off too!!
    #28
  30. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 21, 2011]
    i dont have ac i dont think, but my fan is on all the time, should it b on all the time
    #29
  31. murdoch
    Offline

    murdoch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 22, 2011]
    Yes, the temp climbed steady to 65c, then fluctuated between 62-57c with all heating etc off, I lifted the bonnet whilst it was idling at the end of the journey, and noticed the fan was continuously on, is that normal?
    Skinz, sorry to jump on your thread, i thought it would be a good idea to keep it all in one, as it's effectively the same problem.
    Aragorn, thanks for helping !
    #30
  32. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 22, 2011]
    No worries bud if it helps u out as well, I've got my mot coming up so just trying to get everything sorted for that, got my wish bones, ABS sensor an cv boot to sort out next, I'm hoping that's it all sorted for mot then
    #31
  33. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Sep 22, 2011]
    Which fan?

    There are two. One large fan bolted to the engine and driven by the aux belt, and a smaller electric one.

    The big fan runs all the time, but has a viscous coupling and should only run slowly with the car at normal temperatures. The small electric fan should only run when the coolant temp is over 95c or when the AC is on.

    It does sound like the thermostat, especially if the bits where it dropped lower than 65 where high speed low load, like crusing on the motorway. Its odd that it wont climb when idling, but i guess if the stat was really jammed open the fan may well be drawing enough air thru the rad to keep the temperature from climbing any higher.

    The one last check you could do, would be to use vagcom to compare the ECU temp reading with the instruments, if they're the same its almost certainly the 'stat.
    #32
  34. skinz
    Offline

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 24, 2011]
    Went an got the temp sensor this mornin an it's all workin again, cheers for ur help (memo to self: don't take out temp sensor when engine is warm :-/
    #33

Share This Page