1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TDi remap - '98 1.9

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by TeKnodriver, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Hi all,
    after reading many posts about remaps for the TDi I'm ready to get this done -
    well, once the timing belt is changed i think...
    read good things about CCtuning over on TDiSport form but not seen them mentioned here.
    Seems they do 'dyno diagnostic and custom maps' at a very reasonable price.

    ['98 A4 TDi AFN engine]

    I'm after a very driveable and smooth map with low RPM torque and not peak BHP -

    any experience of good mappers for this?

    thanks in advance for info!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,158
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Are they remapping your AFN engine or chipping it?

    I've been told many times that our ECUs (I got the same motor as you) have to be chipped as they can't be mapped through the ODB port.
    #2
  4. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Thanks for that info Scott, I did not know this...
    I have been enquiring at a handful of companies but not been told it will need a new chip - I'll double check that.

    P)
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Most B5's need chipped, even if its generally called a remap these days.
    #4
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,158
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Any idea why a R reg 8L can be remapped?

    Any views on tunning boxes over Remaps?
    #5
  7. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Just heard back from CCtuning - does this sound right, Scott?

    "You don't need a new ecu fitting lol, you just have to recodify the eproms which are soldiered to the pcb.I have done loads before, in actual fact before remapping was available this is how we used to alter all the cars"
    #6
  8. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,158
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    yup, 100%.

    New ECU? who said that?

    They de-solder your current chip, solder in a chip holder and push a new chip in to the holder.
    #7
  9. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    got tuning box at the mo and defo does something - how much I can't measure.

    I'm working on the assumption that remap will provide better gains, MPG and driveability but I guess this is not always the case?

    I do get flashing glow-plug light and "fuel quantity adjuster fault - intermittent" when the box is turned up
    thinking proper remap will not do this!
    #8
  10. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    ok, sorry Scott think I mis-read your post!!

    however, he says 'recodify' you say 'de-solder'... I'm a little worried about this now
    #9
  11. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,158
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    No idea but it would be interesting to know about the difference.

    I know two people with two different cars that had tunning boxes and both of them never seen or felt a difference.
    They was second hand boxes.
    #10
  12. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,158
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    He might mean the same thing, unless you can remap the ECU chip with out taking it out.

    I have all ways been told you need to remove the original chip (de-solder) and add a chip holder so you can add the new remapped chip.
    #11
  13. tdia4
    Offline

    tdia4 TDIPOWARRR

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Yeah totally right buddy, had my old B5 done and that's what they did.
    #12
  14. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    He means reprogram.

    If you want to tune the car, you need to modify the mapping on the internal EEPROM (memory chip).

    Its exactly the same procedure as remapping, but older ECU's dont have an internal facility to reprogram the chip, and thus the chip needs to be removed (de-soldered) and reprogrammed externally.

    On a newer ECU, it has built in routines which allow the reprogramming to happen over the diagnostic port, and so the need to desolder the chip died out.

    Ofcourse you can if you want still desolder the chip and program it externally on a newer car, but its sort of pointless!
    #13

Share This Page