1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tdi map sensor?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by darren t, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Is it possible too upgrade map sensor too a tdi map sensor as they can read more boost than 1.5bar??obviously I know there not just plug and play but is it possible??
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    no.
    #2
  4. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    cheeres bill did google it but mixed result sum say no some say yes apr did a 3 bar one what happened bill?
    #3
  5. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    dont waste your time with this question (nor mine)
    spend you energy getting your car actually mapped for it hybrid

    pointless wanting 3bar map sensor on a turbo which will not want to be run at that level
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Map sensor limit is hard coded into the software and can't be changed...

    It is plausible to trick the ECU by rescaling EVERY pressure related map in the ECU but the amount of work involved over normal mapping techniques and the amount of time required to tune this correctly makes it a pointless and expensive exercise especially as its not really needed... yes the ECU is blind past 1.5bar but there are other more reliable tuning methods that allow you to run boost past 1.5bar that are tried and tested... I have run 1.8bar solid to the redline on mine...

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    thank you tuffty much appreciated bill is a bit out of order/waste my time he replied and wasted his own if that's how he feels why be on the forum very sorry too have wasted your time bill!!!
    #6
  8. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Not sure he is out of order mate... you still haven't sorted the setup you have yet but you keep asking odd questions like this...

    Like Bill said, you need to get the setup you have running right and mapped as most of your recent started threads are asking about stuff that will be non existent once its mapped...

    Are you any closer to getting it mapped now? weren't you having issues with the actuator or something? I just seems to me you have got your build to a point now which is great but its really difficult to advise on such setups without seeing them... and a visit to any decent VAG specialist that has actual experience of this kinda setup will more than likely give you all the answers you need to get it ready for mapping...

    Your choice obviously but if you still have a few things you are not sure of that need ironing out or advising on then prob best to get another set of eyes on it... be surprised how easy it is to miss stuff when doing your own mods like this :)

    <tuffty/>
    #7
  9. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    im not ready for a map yet there's no way I'm pulling up for a remap too be told something's leaking or not in a+ condition and genuine I have a few little things left too doo yet as it would be a waste of time and money my eyes are all I need theres nothing i have missed injector seals seats gaskets all done and chequed again and again knowledge I'm lacking but it's a learning curve at the end of the day so 3 bar map sensor cannot be mapped in by bill then!
    #8
  10. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    before posting this... consider How Many posts with questions you have already been answered.......
    you have exceeded your quota with me.......

    you have received advise and not followed it as yet.
    #9
  11. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    your advise is too get it mapped? The car is not ready too be mapped if I had it mapped now then I buy the v3 mani and wmi I need a map again costing more....... So I will use my own advise saves you wasting yours you seem too upset a few people bill why not cut the attitude it's a free forum and obviously you feel that you should be paid in some way (look at all the threads with answers already) didn't know there was a limit on posts! lol you look like a scrap dealer anyway so ill be going retch saves wasting your time obviously your flat out all ways on the forum you must run a busy place!!
    #10
  12. Vex182
    Offline

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    For a start, Bill sponsors the forum so it's people like him that keep these places going. Why not get everything on and then get it mapped then, you don't need to try and solve some of these little issues as they will be sorted when it is mapped.
    #11
    darren t likes this.
  13. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    thats the plan bud!:idea:
    #12
  14. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Feb 9, 2013]

    Darren.

    ASN is the best forum anywhere to ask questions re your car, hybrids and mapping! Making enemies on here, you might as well sell your car , cut your losses because with an attitude like that no one will wan to help you...

    fact is you asked a question, is it possible.. Answer is no.. You asked Bill direct question, you got a direct answer...

    Now , if you need an in depth answer to satisfy your curiosity then here goes.

    can you fit a 3 bar sensor?
    yes.. But and it's a bloody big BUT......beyonce size..


    in order to do so, you need to change around 30 pressure related maps, axis and associated variables... Current maps read upto 22.5psi a 3 bar reads atmosphere plus 2 bar ie 28 psi...

    Hybrids only effieciently work in the 22-23psi range max... Anymore and you'll surge or send EGTs through the roof..

    You can control boost very effectively over 22.5 psi by other methods most of which Bill has been instrumental in implementing.

    the amount of effort / time need to map in a 3bar sensor for bugger all gain is beyond economical sense or requirement.

    Even tuffty running a gt30 can quite happily map his car without the need for reading over the current map sensor.

    so in answer to a question of can a map sensor be mapped in in your specific case ......the answer is simply NO..it's not worth it...

    Good luck with sorting the rest of the car out.. I feel you might need it...
    #13
  15. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    bill being a sponsor shouldn't be posting about wasting his time??
    #14
  16. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    no help needed so no worries beach buggy just a map eventually but money talks if he had replied without the smug bit then fair enough but he too smug for me your replie would have done if I'd of asked bill then fair enough he piped up with wasting his time and I didn't even ask him so you can take it how you want mate no skin off my nose! And. The answer is yes but it's a lot of hassle so how can you say no pmsl you just said it yourself!
    #15
  17. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Correct, and there's no need to explore it either imho
    It will not effect tuning of it..
    #16
  18. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Anything is possible fella, practicality over what would be nice is 2 very different things...

    i stand by my answer of No.. It's not worth even looking at...
    #17
  19. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Sort your hardware spec to something stable

    take it to r-tech... and he too can tell you to go away if things are not right
    ;)

    I am busy, booked several weeks ahead currently working 7 days/week, and I still make time to try and help folks technically on this and several other forums/Facebook etc.... I have always done this and wont likely change. People like you however, cross the line of repeated questions, without acting advise given. So this makes me not want to bother trying to help... I give up saying the same things after a period of time.

    Yes I am abrupt at times, I dont suffer fools, nor timewasters, nor BS... I dont deal in BS, but direct fact based experience. Majority of folks appreciate this.

    Its not a free forum, its a sponsored forum.
    You do not find ANY other sponser of ASN helping technically to the level I do.. Period

    You have your arse in your hand about my wasting my time comment.. Sorry, but you seem to not listening to whats been advised several times, so I give up now with you, trying to help. For that reason. I dont in fact have the time to waste. I am in fact busy ;)
    #18
  20. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Darren, Bill is one of the most respected mappers in this country, him and Niki are the leaders in mapping 20v Ts if Bill says its not worth it, its not because he is being smug its because he has prob looked in to it and is trying to save you and the mapper a bucket load of grief, i take it you havent been to many garages that do mapping??? I think your comment about a scrap dealer is bang out of order, imho Bill goes above and beyond to help everyone on this forum, show a little respect dude!!
    #19

Share This Page