1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TDi ECU - plug and play or wishful thinking?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Cossie_boy, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 25, 2012]
    Hi guys!

    Does anyone know if its as simple as swapping the box in terms of fitting another ECU?

    After my TDi 170 has now had a new injectors, harness, tandem pump, turbo, actuator, feed pipes, EGR and throttle body checked and cleaned, it still holds back one second on one second off in 4/5/6 above 3k revs, and apparently speaking to the previous owner the car has done this from new but Audi could not find the fault!

    In process of elimination im thinking could it now be the ECU as I was told this is the one thing that does not show up fault codes as shows all clear.

    I saw one on ebay for £200 and was thinking what at the chances I could get that and fit it and solves problems?

    Many thanks for any information

    CB
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. Baza1819
    Offline

    Baza1819 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Aug 25, 2012]
    Take it to big fish running ( John). My bothers car did it but the remap cured the issue !
    #2
  4. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 25, 2012]
    Really? wow, you have the exact same car as me :salute:

    So was hesitating as described? I can only think the ECU had a fault from new then, so a remap clears any faults with new software?
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    ECU will need coding with immo, so its not exactly pnp & must be exact same part number.

    Cant recall but manual or auto?
    #4
  6. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    Its a manual mate, how do I tell which engine type mine is? I keep seeing BKD I think, mine is the 2.0 TDi 170 Quattro March 2008?

    Also is it possible for Audi, or someone who maps cars, to be able to tell if the ECU has a fault?
    #5
  7. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    301
    [Aug 27, 2012]
    BKD is 140.

    BNM is 170.
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Aug 27, 2012]
    As he said :)

    Best bet is to reflash the ecu with stock firmware at audi & see what occurs, only takes 30 minutes tops with road testing.
    #7
  9. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 27, 2012]
    Ok cheers, that is, once I can get it started, GRRRR, FFS!

    Just went to car to move it as sat there since i drove it back Friday from them, turned over and and over and over, i know diesels do not do this! It did also flash a message on the dash very quickly but didnt catch it, again, GRRRR!

    Ill try it again in a bit but this is reaaaaaaaly starting to pee me off now :(
    #8

Share This Page