1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tCarbon FMIC Kit for 225 Audi TT

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by SwedeS3, Oct 11, 2006.

  1. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2006]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    dunno if it would fit but by god its cheap!
    #2
  4. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,913
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    To me, thats more the price you would expect considering the work invovled, these people charging £600 are taking liberties, theres no way a FMIC is worth 300% more than the manufacturing costs.
    #3
  5. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    I had a look at the shipping costs and the site estimated £65 to deliver to uk so that wasnt too bad either.
    It say's it will fit 225 TT so i think it should also fit an S3, could anybody confirm or deny this please.
    For the price it is so much cheaper than uk kits asdthey don't even come with the silicon pipes like this kit does.

    Cheers
    #4
  6. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    It may work, it may not! However, for the price its worth a go! Even if you have to ebay it if it doesnt fit.

    Rich
    #5
  7. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    I have emailed the company to see what they say, i'll post reply once i get it. but like you said for that price it's worth just buying it .

    Cheers
    #6
  8. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    yeah some TT guy would pay £300 for it im sure.
    #7
  9. funkymofo
    Offline

    funkymofo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    to be honest.......even if it doesnt fit it shouldnt cost much to adapt a few things here and there to make it fit.Definately worth trying anyway!
    #8
  10. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 12, 2006]
    The company probably wont know if it will fit or not a they didnt get the S3 over there.

    Rich
    #9
  11. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 13, 2006]
    I got a reply from the company.....

    Hey,

    To be honest with you I can not tell 100% if it will fit or not. It looks possible but
    I'm not sure if it would fit behind the bumper guard, the bumper, ect. What I would
    be willing to do is send you one when available and if it doesn't fit refund you when
    I get the items back.

    Let me know...


    I have emailed him back to get the dimensions of his kit to compare to a forge one etc.

    Cheers
    #10
  12. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 15, 2006]
    Ok guys, got another email from company with dimensions etc,

    "The core is 28"x9"x3". It's tricky though because that is the TOTAL width and
    it's not that wide at all points. The actual "core" is 21"x9"x3" ..."

    Like you said Richa3turbo, they havent tried fitting this to an S3.

    What i wanted to ask is how do these dimensions compare to an intercooler especailly designed for S3, like the Forge intercooler, i had a look on there website but couldnt find any dimensions and just wanted to compare.

    Thanks

    #11
  13. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 30, 2006]
    Right i have bitten the bullet and have been talked into getting one of there deveolpment kits and going to trail it and see if it will fit the s3.

    Well it will fit one way or the other Lol :haudrauf:

    I'll post more when it is done

    Cheers
    #12
  14. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2006]
    Funny I just called Forge today for their dimensions they are as follows:

    24"x11.5"x3.25" external
    either 19" or 23"x11"x2.25" Core

    The lady gave me the dimensions in mm so here they are in mm
    610x290x80 External
    485 or 585x280x60 Core
    :beerchug:
    #13
  15. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    cool, so there are only slightly different sizes.

    so the questio is, will i be able to get away with just the single fmic or do i still need one smic in circuit still??

    Do you still have a smic with the forge fmic.

    ( god there's a lot of smic,fmics etc in there, sorry) Lol

    :blink:
    #14
  16. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    will the airflow to a fmic really be good enough? there isnt much of a grille down there is there?
    #15
  17. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    The only reason I still have one SMIC istalled is becaus I've got a Star performance FMIC, which is small and needs the SMIC for it to work properly. The bad thing is there's a huge pressure difference between the SMIC and FMIC, so it's best to just have one big one on the front. The only concern I have about the IC you're getting is where the outlets are located, if they were at the bottom of the IC I'd say you find it easier to fit.
    #16
  18. Corey
    Offline

    Corey Seeing the world differently.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    Having done a few tests with an intercooler similar to the TCarbon one (on a SEAT CupraR, has the same style as the S3 originally), the inlet temps when measured where fantastic, their recovery time from being stationary was very rapid.
    Once we get the intercooler and mounted it onto SwedeS3's car we will be able to report back more information but it looks like it is going to be very good.
    If I am happy with how it works and how it fits then we will be supplying these over this side of the pond for TCarbon, plus it opens up to you guys getting REVO stage2 onto your car's.

    Watch this space.
    #17
  19. nicklght
    Offline

    nicklght Imthegod

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    Hey guys this may sound really stupid but ive got a 210 s3 and was wondering if this would fit on mine or would it be a tottaly different fitment? Cheers!
    #18
  20. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    well mate, I'd say wait for Swede to try his one out first, mainly because this kit is for a TT and not an S3. Personally I believe a FMIC from E-bay that's suited for the S3 or Golfs would be much easier to fit. You can take a look at me website and see my small FMIC :beerchug:
    #19
  21. nicklght
    Offline

    nicklght Imthegod

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    Cheers mate! Hopefully it fits! ! more question! Do you have to have the stage 1 revo before the stage 2?
    #20
  22. Corey
    Offline

    Corey Seeing the world differently.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    Nope you can go straight to stage 2 (£549+VAT), if you have stage 1 (£499+VAT)already then it is just a swap over and a charge of £50 extra, with a better downpipe and exhaust you would really get the benefits from stage 2 but we have done a couple of CupraR's without the DP and exhaust and got very good result's.
    Luckily on the S3 there is no need for the 4Bar fuel pressure regulator as the injectors are big enough to cope
    #21
  23. Booth_S4
    Offline

    Booth_S4 Riding on V8 power

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    What is the benifit from stage 2 over stage 1? i have 1, and was thinking of getting 2 done! How long does it take you to do?
    #22
  24. Corey
    Offline

    Corey Seeing the world differently.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    Stage2 software gives you a wider range of adjustment (setting 9 is higher on 2 than 1) to make the most of the lower intake and exhaust gas temps from the bolt on mods, it allows for more boost at the top end and uses a more aggressive fuelling map.
    So when you make the car breathe better (downpipe and exhaust) it really opens up the scope for this chassis.
    Then if you want to start looking at bigger turbo's injector's etc we can then look further ;)
    #23
  25. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 31, 2006]
    Mine is a 210 facelift one, so fingers crossed all goes well when corey rips my car apart to get it to fit.

    Cheers
    #24
  26. Forge
    Offline

    Forge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    Can I ask you guys are you happy to fit a FMIC that removes your crash bar and replaces it with 1" angle as a bracket , just want to know cos maybe we can look at something else
    #25
  27. Booth_S4
    Offline

    Booth_S4 Riding on V8 power

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    at the end of the day if you crash at the front end of your car its going to be all smashed up anyway whether you have the crash bar or not really aint it!

    Yeah id be interested! fancy a dummy car?:eyebrows:
    #26
  28. Corey
    Offline

    Corey Seeing the world differently.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    Who said anything about removing the crash bar?

    The images shown over on AudiWorld by TCarbon are not indicative of the final product we would supply, is business that bad that you need to slate other products?
    #27
  29. Adams3
    Offline

    Adams3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    The crash bar might be the difference between the engine ending up in your lap or staying under the bonnet though!!
    #28
  30. Corey
    Offline

    Corey Seeing the world differently.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    At the sort of speeds your talking about to move the engine into the passenger compartment there isn't going to be an awful lot left to polish the next car.
    #29
  31. Adams3
    Offline

    Adams3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    So if it doesnt make that much difference why do Audi bother fitting it?? Could save themselves a lot of money there!!
    #30
  32. ChriS3
    Offline

    ChriS3 hud at ye bam

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,234
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    Nope, their core size seem's to be just right for the S3.

    There's enough airflow to keep the engine cool with a decent FMIC.
    #31
  33. SwedeS3
    Offline

    SwedeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    Guys I have no intention of compromising my safety in the car!!

    Yes the crash bar was removed on the TT on the audiworld article:-

    http://forums.audiworld.com/tt/msgs/1560900.phtml

    But that doesn't mean we have to on an S3, the company themselves have told me they have not tested this on an S3, but for the price they are doing these kits for, it is worth investigating to see if it will work on the S3 and what modifications to car/fmic are required to get it to work.

    I am being a guinea pig and Corey is going to test and develop this kit to see if we can have another mod for our car's that we all want, but isn't going to cost an arm and a leg.

    I am no expert in modding car and am just learning, but after just having REVO and brakes done, I now have the bug that the rest of you have.

    Lets just see how it goes, but I will let you all know how it goes

    Cheers

    Swede

    :salute:


    P.S. Sorry forgot to say, thanks all for the advice and help you guys have given so far.
    #32
  34. ChriS3
    Offline

    ChriS3 hud at ye bam

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,234
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    I think the Forge crash bar is about the best compromise for me. But if you're open to suggestion, it would have been nice to see slightly larger inlet and outlet diameters, and different piping set-up - currently sits too tightly against the back of the foglights.
    #33
  35. JonesyGT
    Offline

    JonesyGT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    I thought the Forge one involved a large section of the crash bar to be cut out anyway, still a compromise on safety!!
    #34
  36. Forge
    Offline

    Forge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 2, 2006]
    No slagging going on from Forge
    T Carbon make some quality products .
    Just looking to find out what the community view as acceptable with regards to an alternative , we may look to accomodate another design.

    As regards removing that crash bar . I am sure it was designed and tested by Audi for a purpose . possibly to helpsave lives .

    Oh and business is just fine thanks




    #35
  37. Corey
    Offline

    Corey Seeing the world differently.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2006]
    Product development is always good.

    legislation???

    Cool:rock:
    #36
  38. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2006]
    soo, doesn't the Forge FMIC need some crash bar "adjustments" i.e. cutting a bit off?
    #37
  39. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Nov 2, 2006]
    you get a new bar afaik
    #38
  40. Forge
    Offline

    Forge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 2, 2006]
    #39
  41. JonesyGT
    Offline

    JonesyGT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2006]

    Just had a look at the fitting guide about 50% of the crash bar is removed to allow for the intercooler.

    Forge could one be made where the crash barrier doesnt have to be cut which would fit under it maybe? especially since the top section of the cooler is behind the crash barrier/bumper and wont have a cooling affect anyway
    #40

Share This Page