1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TB alignment

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by coatesy, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. coatesy
    Offline

    coatesy poking badgers with spoons

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    265
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    iv tryed to align my TB using vagcom, i used the version that welly posted up on here with the driver.

    so when it came down to doing it i followed the instructions :
    Cable-Throttle Engines

    Turn the key on but do not start the car.
    [Select]
    [01 - Engine]
    [Measuring Blocks - 08]
    Enter Group 098 (Note: Some SIMOS or Marelli ECU's use Group 001 such as ADY & AEE engines)

    [Go!]
    [Switch to basic settings]
    Once you do this you will see the top right display say ADP RUN. The TB adaptation is being done as soon as you switch to basic settings. You will see the values change and hear the TB cycle for the first few seconds then it will stop. Leave it in Basic Settings for about 30 seconds.

    Click the [Switch to Meas. Blocks] button and you're all set.
    Be sure not to touch the accelerator and make sure the engine is NOT running when you do this!


    and then vagcom just says it cant do it, you dont have the full/registered version. what am i doing wrong or am i just been a plank with the same knowledge as a turd and missing something really simple ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 23, 2014]

  3. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    You need the full version to the reset mate.
    #2
  4. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    The unregistered version is limited and you will need to buy a lisence or get somebody with the full version to do it for you, it is a very worthwile tool.....
    #3
  5. coatesy
    Offline

    coatesy poking badgers with spoons

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    265
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    ah right i guess that makes sense thanks guys, is it best to buy the full version off ross tech's website or can it be bought from other places?
    #4
  6. Syvo
    Offline

    Syvo IF IN DOUBT GO FLAT OUT

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    you dont need a vagcom to re-align the throttle body.

    just disconect the battery then reconnet put key in and turn till all the lights are on the dash and dont touch any pedels should hear the throttle body moving about ie searching leave for 2mins turn the car off pull key out.

    put key back in turn car over TB done i have a vagcom and didnt need it to do this .
    #5
  7. coatesy
    Offline

    coatesy poking badgers with spoons

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    265
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    ill give this ago tonight and see if this works, will it work with cable throttle ?
    #6
  8. Syvo
    Offline

    Syvo IF IN DOUBT GO FLAT OUT

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    oo that is a question as im on dbw it worth a shot imo as the vagcom will only be able to calibrate the same as my method as they both going through the ecu
    #7
  9. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    No, it won't.
    #8
  10. Syvo
    Offline

    Syvo IF IN DOUBT GO FLAT OUT

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    does this only work with dbw welly?
    #9
  11. coatesy
    Offline

    coatesy poking badgers with spoons

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    265
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    ah well thats pretty ghay.. i think i know somebody local that has full vagcom ill get them to do it
    #10
  12. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    Doesnt even work with dbw, its a myth, theres a video on youtube showing a vagcom alignement and a battery disconnetced alignement, the battery one doesnt do anything.
    #11
  13. A3 T
    Offline

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    I thought as much....

    I've tried to do it the manual way in the past but the only time I've aligned it properly has been with vagcom.
    #12
  14. Syvo
    Offline

    Syvo IF IN DOUBT GO FLAT OUT

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    carnt be that much of a myth as it alligned mine fine when had idel issues
    #13
  15. markthenewt
    Offline

    markthenewt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    I was told by R-Tech that they aligned themselves after a clean. What happens if they are not aligned then... What effects would it have on the car?
    #14
  16. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    #15
  17. Syvo
    Offline

    Syvo IF IN DOUBT GO FLAT OUT

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    i can see your point dani although if no access to the vag com the key in ignition will be fine.
    i did mine before getting the vcds lite so will have a dabble with the vcds lite at weekend and see if it make any difference.
    #16
  18. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Vcds lite wont work mate, tried it and it says you need the full licence.
    #17
  19. Syvo
    Offline

    Syvo IF IN DOUBT GO FLAT OUT

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    did mine last night with the vcds lite (i have the licence for the vcds lite) not alot to notice slightly better.
    #18
  20. rlc1985
    Offline

    rlc1985 top gear

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    Anyone got any more information on this?. Can you do it without the full version of vagcom manually for example disconnecting the battery and ecu or is it a myth?.
    #19
  21. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    If you want it done, and done correctly, it needs to be done through VAG COM, or VCDS Lite (A registered copy of either). That is for BOTH DBW and non DBW.
    #20

Share This Page