1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tapping into switched power in roof console

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by larsmate, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. larsmate

    larsmate Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've installed a dash cam behind the rear view mirror and now I'm after switched power from the dome light. There's around seven wires to choose from and my volt meter can't touch the the wires inside the connector due to the small openings to the pins. Anyone have a wiring diagram or know what colour wire is the switched positive? Here's a pic of the connector circled in yellow:

    Capture.JPG
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. JohnE

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    40
    I've looked at this for my dashcam - pretty sure it can't be done. The module is fed live at all times - it needs power available when ign is off if you think about it. Control for the lighting uses canbus (orange/green and orange/brown) to determine if the engine is running and so on.
     
  4. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    157
    Run it properly down into the fusebox.
     
  5. larsmate

    larsmate Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    5
    Makes sense yes but thought the sun roof was on switched but then remembered I could operate it with the key fob. That is till my battery went flat and now can't operate the roof remotely any longer but that's a separate problem!
     
  6. JohnE

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    40
  7. larsmate

    larsmate Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    5
    That looks like it would work but shipped to Australia is unfortunately too expensive.

    Any tricks to running a wire down the pillar? Can it be fed without removing head lining?
     

Share This Page