1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

symptoms of a loose cambelt (petrol 1.8t)

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by bowen, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. bowen
    Offline

    bowen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi Guys,

    A few months back I had my waterpump and cambelt replaced. I recently took it to a different garage for an oil change service etc, when I picked it up the mechanic noticed my cambelt was loose. He showed me how slack it was, you could pull at it, no tension at all. It was also nearly slipping off the top cog. It is currently sat there getting the cambelt re done!

    Now if it had slipped off I know how bad things could have been. :puke2:

    My question is what symptoms could this have caused?

    Help appreciated. I have searched but most results turn up derv issues.


    Thanks,
    #1
  2. Mike B
    Offline

    Mike B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    8
    Was the tensioner changed
    #2
  3. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    139
    Only way it could be loose is if the tensioner wasn't replaced and had leaked its oil, then your last garage that changed the cambelt should be shot for not changing it or they did change it and they forgot to pull the pin out to set the tension, easily done and if that's the case no need to replace the belt or tensioner just pull the pin. Surprised the garage doing the work now could tell you exactly what the issue is straight away as its vet very easy to tell if the tensioner is faulty or the pins not pulled!
    #3
  4. quattro tony
    Offline

    quattro tony Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the belt was slack, you could get running problems if it was moving the timing out of where it should be, the timing may jump, rattling noises from the cambelt area , poor idle etc....., Its possible the tensioner/ damper was worn out / leaking maybe or i more suspect set up incorrectly. It normally takes me a few goes to get the tension spot on ( im happy with it ) on these engines. Let us know if the garage find anything wrong when they re do the belt.
    #4
  5. pj123
    Offline

    pj123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    9
    I dont understand - how do you adjust the tension? surely it is either on or off, dependant if the pin has been pulled...
    #5
  6. bowen
    Offline

    bowen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    14
    Interesting, I will let you all know the out come.
    #6
  7. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    34
    almost impossible to set the tension wrong on these as the tensioner has a sprung and damped piston unit applying force to the little arm on the tensioner itself. and youd have to be totally incompetant to leave the pin still in the damper/piston unit!

    if the oil had all leaked out of the damper it would still be sprung and tension would appear normal with the engine off. it would only flap/jiggle the cambelt as the engines running.
    #7
  8. bowen
    Offline

    bowen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    14
    could it cause low vaccum and low compression?
    #8
  9. PhilW
    Offline

    PhilW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    4
    If it was loose, so basically like being a tooth out you would get an engine management light withing about 20 yards of clearing it. One for incorrect correlation between cam and crank sensors.

    Do you have any running issues. Even when the tensioner is depressed you'd find it difficult to slide it completely off.
    #9
  10. quattro tony
    Offline

    quattro tony Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    The tensioner on these doesn't work like that, its not like some japanese engines where you just pull the pin out and it will adjust accordingly , You need to set the tensioner up and measure the gap between the tensioner and the damper body, Ive done loads of these belts and this is how ive always done them. I really carn't see a tech leaving the pin in and sending it out , If they did 100% they should not be working on cars:no:
    #10
  11. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    139
    Are we talking the same tensioners here? And what damper is this? The 1.8t has a tensioner which is set by pulling the pin and this then pushes up against the bracket on the pulley. You can't set it or adjust it, you fit and pull...and I can easily believe a "tech" leaving the pin..
    #11
  12. PhilW
    Offline

    PhilW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    4
    What you talking about? You pull the pin out and thats it. No adjustment is required.
    #12
  13. pj123
    Offline

    pj123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm looking forward to hearing how you adjust the tensioner, what you measure and what the measurement should be...

    You are talking about an Audi 1.8T engine i presume???
    #13
  14. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep.

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    491
    id like to know how he noticed it
    when he was doing an oil change
    #14
  15. bowen
    Offline

    bowen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    14
    OK,

    When doing the oil change I also asked the mechaninc to replace a leaky rocker cover gasket. He removed the cambelt inspection cover to get better access.
    #15
  16. quattro tony
    Offline

    quattro tony Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes bowman has said his engine is a 1.8t b6 a4. Ive just rechecked my autodata and elsa and you do need to set up the tensioner on these, I don't know what you guys make it sound like im wrong as ive always done it this way, I know what you guys are on about regards the tensioner, the only time ive come across this where you just put the pin out is on the v6 and yes no adjustment is required, and again a tech leaving a pin in certainly doesn't know what he is doing and should not be doing cambelts this is my opinion.
    #16
  17. bowen
    Offline

    bowen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    14
    Got the car back, pulls much harder.
    #17

Share This Page