1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Symphony will not play CDs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ScottishS3, Jun 9, 2011.

  1. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    Hi All!
    Im getting seriously p*ssed with my Symphonys refusal to play ANY CDs that I burn!
    I tried MP3s and WAV but no no avail!
    Anybody have any ideas of how to play CD-Rs?????
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    You might find it only plays proper CD's & copied CD's, not compressed formats like mp3's etc. I'm fairly sure my RNS-E doesnt play mp3's on a CD, only on the memory cards.
    #2
  4. Lings
    Offline

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    Try a diferent brand ,Asda / tesco cdr's are pish .Not saying yours are **** but its worth a shot
    #3
  5. Kash3838
    Offline

    Kash3838 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    mine in the a4 didnt play mp3's only copied cd's... get an ipod adapter fitted
    #4
  6. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    This is why i removed the symphony within the first couple weeks of getting the car. It only plays standard format CD's which as you all know is about 18 songs a disk. You could fit a dension 100 and get ipods working if you have an ipod? or go cheapo route and get one of those tape - aux adapters and play music from a phone/ipod but then suffer with the ugly cables.
    #5
  7. Kash3838
    Offline

    Kash3838 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    another suggestion, turn off the stereo, add a milltek and just listen to that sweet music! :rock:
    #6
  8. Wizza
    Offline

    Wizza BÜBENGRÖPEN

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    #7
  9. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    I was using TDKS and some other make but they both didn't work!
    #8
  10. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    Im not sure what will work with my Symphony though! And what ones show up on the display? I wanna get RNS-E evetually so if I get one, it has to work with that as well. Any ideas?
    I miss my Beemers Aux-In cable. It was so simple plugging in my ipod!
    #9
  11. Wizza
    Offline

    Wizza BÜBENGRÖPEN

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    I thik the Interface lead works on all newer style headunits. I have a picture of the plug that connects to the headunit;

    [​IMG]

    You could always have a look at teh back of your head unit to check and I'm sure someone will have a picture of the back of the RNS-E unit.

    I'm currently using one of them Auxillary Tape Players as it allows for greater colume over the iTrips which connect to the bottom of the iPod. My Symphony 'double-din' headunit doesn't go very loud at the best of times. Very limited in sound output so can't wait to upgrade the ICE.
    #10
  12. Naj
    Offline

    Naj Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    #11
  13. Wizza
    Offline

    Wizza BÜBENGRÖPEN

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    If you look at te post directly above Naj I have posted a picture of the connection that plugs into the head unit.

    As long as that connects to your head unit the USB connection on the other end I assume will allow you to connect the likes of laptops or MP3 players up to the head unit.

    You could always send Stoke Audi your VIN number and ask them just incase.
    #12
  14. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    So that just plugs into the back of the headunit then? Then where do you put the end that plugs into the ipod?
    #13
  15. Wizza
    Offline

    Wizza BÜBENGRÖPEN

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    Glovebox I think dude but I'm sure you could put it anywhere - only downfall is the lead isn't very long. Some of these leads actually plug into a connection fitted in the glove box. Have a look there if you have anything.

    I still need to get my headunit out to have double check exactly what connections on on the back.

    Another option would be to go for the Parrot Bluetooth Kit if you don't already have Bluetooth connection as they also come with iPod interface. My mate use to have one in his Focus and it was a great piece of kit.
    #14
  16. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    Ive already got the OEM Bluetooth fitted so no point getting the Parrot
    #15
  17. Naj
    Offline

    Naj Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    I got a some cheapo Tesco CD-R and they work fine. Just use Windows Media Player to burn an Audio CD which will save the songs as .CDA. A Data CD will create MP3, WAV, WMA etc which don't work.
    #16
  18. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 9, 2011]
    I did try Windows Media Player. Maybe I should try Tescos discs then!
    #17
  19. Naj
    Offline

    Naj Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jun 10, 2011]
    Again, check you are burning an Audio CD in WMP. It will only record 16-20 tracks on a CD-R.
    #18
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 10, 2011]
    That cable will not work at all in your car without a mk2 rns-e & ami system, that alone will set you back over 1k easily, so ignore this info.

    You need to use standard cd's in your head unit, it will not support mp3/wav files end of.

    Get an rns-e, that will play mp3 no problem, job done
    #19
  21. fuzion
    Offline

    fuzion Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    149
    [Aug 15, 2011]
    symphony 2 will play mp3s..

    so will the ami cable work with the symphony 2 deck or?
    #20
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 15, 2011]
    Read post 19 :whistle2:
    #21
  23. fuzion
    Offline

    fuzion Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    149
    [Aug 16, 2011]
    But your post also states can only play mp3s in rns-e .. but the sym2 plays mp3s so im confused.

    lol :p
    #22
  24. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Aug 16, 2011]
    Nige and everyone else is right, you can not play mp3 compressed CDs or similar formats on the Sympthony 2 units upto year 2006, as I had this same issue but now have RNSe Mk2 so no probs. HOWEVER, you can play Mp3 CDs on the Symphony 2 plus (upgraded symphony 2) year 2007 onwards.
    Hope this helps.
    #23
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 16, 2011]
    Although I appreciate there maybe slight confusion with different units, without me being smarty arsy pants lol, but I was fairly clear, the ami cable wont work without ami itself & an rns-e mk2.
    #24

Share This Page