1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Symphony stereo

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by vwgtiking, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    I got these 4 keys off eBay and for the life me I cannot remove this good damn stereo. It's the double din with cd changer built in. Any advice? Or are the keys just ****?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2013
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    So that's why you want the glovebox out! :laugh:
    #2
  4. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Cos once I got stereo out I was gonna run iPod wires into glove box for new stereo like I did with the golf.
    #3
  5. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    No that not why. Lol
    #4
  6. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    I was thinking you can push on the back of the headunit when the glovebox is out...
    #5
  7. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
  8. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Unless you have hands like shovels, you should be able to apply some force to the back of it. Just make sure the keys make a positive click when inserted IIRC
    #7
  9. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Ok glove box out. Phase 2
    #8
  10. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,858
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    get better keys ?
    #9
  11. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Romeo done!! It's out.
    #10
  12. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Phase 3. No power to new hu. Is the wiring different ie power and ground. Like the golf?
    #11
  13. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,858
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    what HU are you fitting ?
    #12
  14. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Pioneer avh p4200 dvd
    #13
  15. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,858
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    did you get the correct wireing ?
    you also have to run a igg feed to the new HU
    #14
  16. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Ignition feed? Wtf this is turning into a joke?
    #15
  17. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Oh I see only 2 connectors line up.
    #16
  18. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Any wiring diagrams?
    #17
  19. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    I can pull the male connectors out but I don't know the wires are the Audi???
    #18
  20. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
  21. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    #20
  22. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    How would I know if mine is Bose?
    #21
  23. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    How do I get I to work with constant power on?
    #22
  24. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Your door speakers will have the Bose logo and the headunit says Bose when it first powers on.
    #23
  25. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Look what I found with a quick SEARCH
    #24
    quattrojames likes this.
  26. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    And if all you wanted was an ipod hookup, these are plug and play with factory headunits
    #25
  27. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Ive connected the yellow and red wires together on headunit and still. I power
    #26
  28. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Still no pwr*
    #27
  29. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Do you have a multimeter? Test for correct voltage on the wires? Has the fuse blown on the car? Has the fuse blown on the headunit? Have you ever seen your new headunit working?
    #28
  30. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Found the issue. The acc cable on the headunit has a resistor and this didn't give the headunit enough power to start up. Swapped it over and it works. Next job is to wire in an ignition wire and get the rear speakers working.
    #29
  31. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    With regards to this the 3rd connector the one furthest to the left. What are these connections for? Do I need the com and arrow with a dot middle???

    [​IMG]
    #30
  32. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jun 24, 2013]
    You rear speakers aren't working because they're driven by an amp in the boot, via the line outs, I believe.

    There is plenty of info out there as you're not the first to fit an aftermarket headunit.

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/car-entertainment/3187-rear-speakers-not-working.html

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...onnected-rear-speakers-still-not-working.html

    How to install an aftermarket radio without a wiring harness - AudiWorld Forums

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-sportback-8p-chassis/76733-help-aftermarket-stereo-replace-concert.html


    It took me 2 minutes to find the links. I would suggest you spend some time reading up before continuing.
    #31

Share This Page