1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Symphony II track info ...?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by sukrw, May 17, 2008.

  1. sukrw
    Offline

    sukrw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Is this normal for the Symphony II stereo:

    If I put a CDR with lots of MP3 tracks on it - the info button allows me to select either:
    Track File Name
    Track Name
    Album Name
    Artist

    Which is all great.

    if I put a brand new music CD in - all I get it Track 1, Track 2 etc - there is no Info button and can't select the track name etc.

    Seems a bit backward to me ... I expect there is a reason for this ? Are the very latest Symphony II's the same ?

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. reubs1981
    Offline

    reubs1981 Yellow peril

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    The CD probably just hasn't got text info. enabled (or is that too simple an answer?). I've only got Concert so can't give a definitive answer.
    #2
  3. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    It could be down to the way that your MP3's are tagged and how the Symphony reads them. I have never seen the system running however so it is just a guess.

    Rich
    #3
  4. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Music CDs do not contain the track information (or if your disc does then the head unit does not support CDText). The MP3 CDs have the ID3 tags on the files which is why the head unit can read them.

    By the way, do you mean Symphony II+? I wasn't aware the GenII head units could play MP3 CDs.
    #4
  5. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marc can you explain the Symphony ratings , i don't know which one i have in my car?

    I have a Symphony 6 cd front loader in a 07 S3 , which do i have?

    Thanks

    p
    #5
  6. sukrw
    Offline

    sukrw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry yes it is probably a II+ it is 12 months old - not sure what version that is ....

    It must be the headunit can't read the track info then as Windows reads it fine. This is the same for any music original cd I put into the unit. Windows can read all the track/album info just fine - Looks like the audi unit is just lacking this functionality - not to worry, will rip it to mp3.

    Ta
    #6
  7. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the Symphony II+:
    [​IMG]

    Your PC can display the track names because it connects to the internet when you first insert the disc and downloads the album details from the CDDB.

    WMP sends information such as number of tracks, length of each track, length of album, etc. to the server and it works out what the album is and sends the details back to WMP.
    #7
  8. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is one CD that I have found will display track names on my Symphony headunit. Its not a copy or mp3 cd, its a genuine album. None of my other CDs do regardless of being copied or not!
    #8
  9. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Care to tell it what it is? Or is it one of those embarrassing ones that you always tell people belongs to the mrs?
    #9
  10. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not all original cd's display info on my £1000 Arcam CD player , it depends if the CD has info or not , if not there will be no info to read!

    p
    #10
  11. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Marc i have the Symphony II + then nice!

    p
    #11
  12. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Prodigy! :blush:
    #12
  13. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll have the same head unit as mine (well before I changed it for an RNS-e). I belive they changed to the II+ models in late 06 - possibly anything built after October 06, because I ordered mine in October and it was built in November and got the II+. When I ordered it the brochures were still listing the II model.
    #13
  14. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    You didn't really answer the question there!! Is it yours or does it "belong to the mrs"?
    #14
  15. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its mine. She cant stand it!
    #15
  16. RichC
    Offline

    RichC RAC 500W

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is absolutely nothing wrong with the Prodigy, :rock:.

    Rich
    #16
  17. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup:
    #17
  18. PNH80
    Offline

    PNH80 Low life livin' the high life.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where in Sheffield were they playing? Shame i missed that.... New album coming out then i presume? Sorry to hijack the thread...
    #18

Share This Page