1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Symphony II » RNS-E sat nav Retrofit

benw123 Nov 26, 2006

  1. beerglass

    beerglass Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How easy would this be in the A4 2006 I have now?
     
  2. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ease of installation mostly depends on whether you have a single or double-din radio at present as, if the latter, it's pretty much a straight swap out.

    http://www.navplus.us is your friend, there will be plenty of examples, pictures and experts over there.
     
  3. hburnett

    hburnett Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    At that price I think i'm seriously going to look into it as my suction PDA Satnav is old a defunked with wires everywhere, I was looking for a new SatNav but this looks sweet.....

    Does the same apply for the 'Bose' sound setup? I've heard the the behind is different, or is that on the earlier models?!?

    Cheers... H
     
  4. hburnett

    hburnett Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There are a lot of them for sale on eBay. I take that they all fit i.e. A4/A6, as they're all dounle-din units???
    What part code is it??
    Cheers again... H
    PS You've seriuosly raised my eyebrows!!!
     
  5. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    The RNS-E works fine with Bose, but you will need a slightly different adapter. If you order one from http://www.kufatec.de, I think you can specify Bose and they will add the connector for you. If not, an RNS-E vendor who sells the units as part of a package (including DVD, antenna and adapter) may be able to sort this out for you.

    Again, more detail can be found on http://www.navplus.us.
     
  6. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yep, they're all double-DIN units. I notice from your signature that you currently have a Symphony II stereo, in which case the swap is going to be very straightforward. For Chorus or Concert owners, it's still possible but will need more work as previously discussed. Found a good post on AudiWorld to show what's involved:

    http://forums.audiworld.com/a3/msgs/63879.phtml

    Please note however that you have to buy like for like; i.e. an A3 RNS-E unit for an A3, A4 unit for an A4 etc. because the fascias and part of the hardware is different and will not swap over. For the A3, the part number is 8P0 035 192.
     
  7. phydaux

    phydaux New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I would recomend you also fit the bluetooth phone box. It complets the set up. You don't need the Audi cradle, just keep the phone in you pocket. You may have to run one wire to the micropohone although some cars are prewired already.
     
  8. beerglass

    beerglass Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In my A4 i have a Symphony II stereo, so would this be just a case plug n play.
    It already has a BT phone module fitted and the IPOD cable attached to the Symphony II stereo.

    Would I need a different cable to plug the RNS-E into ?

    Also how easy is the TMC to setup. I take it the 2007 DVD only has the TMC and that upgrades the older versions of RNS-E systems.

    I see alot of RNS-E systems on ebay but not coming with the 2007 DVD. So I take it that these dont have TMC installed?
     
  9. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yes, you can swap out your Symphony II for the RNS-E quite easily. You'll need an adapter though, which connects between the existing loom and the RNS-E. I believe there is a separate interface for Bluetooth, but as always you can find more information about this on http://www.navplus.us.

    If any RNS-E unit is being advertised with the 2007 DVDs (there are now two DVDs for West and East Europe), it should have software version 0550 installed. This is the only version with TMC enabled. However, you can buy any RNS-E and upgrade to 0550 by purchasing the DVDs and this will enable TMC.
     
  10. hburnett

    hburnett Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does the RNE-S navigate to postcodes in the UK as most of my work is getting to places by postcode?!!?
    Sorry for the stupid questions...
    Also does it support Traffic Camera datasets - is that TMS? How easy are these to add in, if at all??
    Cheers H
     
  11. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It supports partial postcodes, up to the first digit of the second block, it then prompts you for the road name.

    You can't load traffic camera locations on to it I'm afraid.
     
  12. Quattro_Ollie

    Quattro_Ollie New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Great advise, I have recently brought a 99 4.2 quattro A6 with sat nav.
    The system is out dated and difficult to operate.
    Do you think it is possible to fit a similar updated version form a later model as you did rather than fitting a after market system.

    Ollie
     
  13. galewis

    galewis Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What's the part number of the bluetooth box, where can you obtain it from and is it expensive? Also, do you know which cars are pre-wired with the microphone. I have an A3 Sportback 2007 model. Would this have the wiring?

    Sorry for all the questions.
     
  14. beerglass

    beerglass Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah I would agree with that.
    I have the MFSW and audi bluetooth setup now with the RNS-E system

    The bluetooth is amazing with the RNS-E. But you need to tell the bluetooth module that you have a RNS-E fitted.

    Now it lists all my address book via bluetooth into the RNS-E
     
  15. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Although I have a company car, I was so impressed with the GSM prep that I paid for it out of my own pocket, all £500 worth!

    It's that good.
     
  16. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Over the last couple of weeks I've been looking into GPS antennas that double up as tax disc holders to improve the GPS satellite reception. For those that have been following this thread, I've tried a couple of different locations for the small antenna that was supplied with the RNS-E, but it's not reliable enough for my liking. Ideally, I'd like to fit the sharkfin antenna, but the installation is a bit involved with drilling holes and routing a lot of cable from the back of the car.

    So, following a post from someone who mentioned a tax disc holder that doubles as a GPS receiver, I started researching it. These antennas are primarily for the UK market. I found a company on the web, http://www.g-com.co.uk, who supply these antennas. After exchanging a few emails, they said they could supply an antenna with a SMB adapter to fit the RNS-E for £32 delivered, so I went for it.

    It arrived in the week and I installed it yesterday. And what a result - it works brilliantly, with a constant 8 satellites! What impresses most is that it's not just the number of satellites it can receive, more how constant it can see them. Previously, with the small antenna, the display would change every few seconds as signals were found and lost.

    Anyway, this is what G-Com sent me:

    [​IMG]

    Note the shorter cable and the SMB connector. It matches the blue hook-up on the back of the RNS-E perfectly. The white paper covers the adhesive backing.

    This is what the tax disc holder looks like once in place (incidentally, my tax disc was ordered online with the DVLA, and to avoid cloning, I've wiped out my registration number. Also, the disc above the holder is a work parking permit):

    [​IMG]

    If you look carefully at the bottom of the holder, there's a small wire running to the bottom of the screen. I routed this behind the A-pillar trim back to the side of the dashboard, next to the glovebox, and from there the cable runs on top of the glovebox and to the RNS-E.

    I'll obviously keep a check on its reception, but for now this is a worthwhile product - certainly for UK drivers - as it's easy to install, has great reception, very stealthy and of course is a neat tax disc holder too!
     
  17. Spook

    Spook Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sorry, but it looks like you've stuck a colostomy bag to your windscreen there.....:scared2:
     
    Pauljamescaton likes this.
  18. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    LOL!!!!! All it needs is a translucent tube and I'm all set ..
     
  19. cliveywolves

    cliveywolves Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    glad you got your gps reception sorted out at last......must of been your gps antenna.....

    Im still getting 7-8 from mine in the dash.........
     
  20. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Great info Ben..
    Can you remember what pin bose is and what colour ?..
    Just want to check my Kufatec adapter..
    By the way, I am changing single din to double din so I'll do some pics and a write up...
     
  21. A3_TOBES

    A3_TOBES Member

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats a great write up Ben, I've also go the symph 2 and would like to move to an RNS-E. However I have already got the cd-sat nav. Can the 2 work together or would the cd-sat nav become redundant? Also can you buy the tv module reasonably cheap also?
     
  22. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Unfortunately I don't know - my car doesn't have Bose. Have you looked at http://www.navplus.us? I recall there's some schematics and diagrams for the adapters which might be useful. Same for the single-DIN to double-DIN, others have done it before.
     
  23. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I would think the CD sat nav would become totally redundant; once you've got the RNS-E installed, you have just about everything you could possibly want! :) I would suggest removing it (if possible) and perhaps selling it on eBay to recoup some of the cost.

    The TV modules aren't too expensive. You can buy a unit called a Dietz 1417 (have a look on eBay, and expand the search to "European Union" because most are from Germany) which does the same thing as the Audi unit. There's also TV-in-motion versions. They start at around the £100 mark with delivery extra.
     
  24. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    36

    I'm not sure of the colour but it is in connector B and is pin 7.

    Have a read here for more info....
    http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=853
     
  25. MiT

    MiT Work Hard, Play harder!!

    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thats what it is!!!

    I just bought my audi a 2-3 weeks ago. And it has one of them GPS tax disc holder. Wasnt quick sure what it was connected to, as i only have the stock cd player in the car. Well now i can remove it and sell it off. :)
     
  26. Shep

    Shep New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can somebody please clear these things up for me please. I have ordered my A3 Sportback s-line with the standard concert cd player with the ipod connection and also the bose system aswell, question is wether or not they will both work if I upgrade to a RNS-E. Thanks (still got 9 weeks to wait!!!)
     
  27. normski

    normski Member

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes they will for sure.

    Craig is the expert, but have you tried typing in RNS-E in search, or even trying all the links in this or similar threads.

    The info is all on here mate.
     
  28. emzino

    emzino Active Member

    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Very nice!

    Would anyone like to install it for me? I just wouldn't have the slightest idea of how to go about it...
    I live in South Croydon area. PM Me. Thanks :)
     
  29. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hey emzino, if you get a PM please let me know. I'm not far from you and could do with a similar service...
     
  30. fesss_84

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok guys, this thread is very usefull as im thinkin of fittin the RNS-e to my car.

    iv always wondered why the sharkfin was on my car, as i read that the radio antenna is built into the back screen, good job i found out, i was going to remove it as it looked funny

    one thing i want to clarify, does the sharkfin act as a GPS antena as well as bluetooth ???? is any extra cables needed ???? or is there another type of sharkfin which fits onto the roof
     
  31. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The radio antenna is indeed in the rear screen. The sharkfin contains a GSM phone antenna, but this is only used when your phone is in the (£100 extra) cradle. I'm unsure if the A3 sharkfin also contains a GPS antenna, the only way to tell is if you drop the headlining and have a look. Kufatec sell a fin with both GSM and GPS for 69 Euro, I imagine that you could also get this from vagparts.
     
  32. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member VCDS Map User

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You'll be lucky of your car is fitted with a GPS sharksfin and even luckier if the cables are there! Audi usually tend not to fit wiring for options you havent got. Never say never though!

    Far easier to fit the small 'hockey-puck' style GPS antenna that most vendors supply, just goes above the glovebox as posted many times before.

    Running a cable from the sharksfin means you need to drop the headlining.
     
  33. rbouzereau

    rbouzereau New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, great info in this thread. I have an A3 sportback TDI 140hp, with the "Concert" radio==> my understanding is that it is similar to the Symphony except for the 6-CD changer integrated in the radio.

    I'd like to upgrate to Navigation Plus and Bluetooth. What do I need to order exactly? I am having a hardtime finding info related to 2007 models, so I don't know if I need the same cable adapters and GPS antena cable...

    As I want to contribute to the forum, please check out my post "USB hard drive support"

    I hope you guys will help me and all 2007 owners to apply your the recommendations of this threat to the latest models.

    Ren
     
  34. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Hi Ren,

    You'll need an A3 RNSe, part number 8P0 035 192, these units have letters after the name running from A to M the higher the letter the newer the unit. As you have an 07 A3 it already has the quadlock connector required for the RNSe, if you have BOSE you need to move a pin, if not no worries it's just plug and play. You'll have to code the car and the RNSe with vagcom, this link will help. Most ebay sellers include the GPS antenna, Mine is under the dash next to the heater vent, you can fit the sharkfin, but it's a fair amount of work to drop the headlining and route the cable.
    EDIT: The unit should come with a map disc, the navigation won't work without it!

    Hope this helps.
     
  35. steve1975l

    steve1975l Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Send me a PM with your mail address as I have a guide which is too big to post.
     
  36. rbouzereau

    rbouzereau New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys,​

    Thanks for the answers! I don't have the BOSE option, just the Concert radio (comes standard with Ambiante package). So from what JohnS3 said I just do not need any cable adapter. That's great news. Does anybody has the detailed list of differences between the different versions of RNS-E (A, B...M)?​

    Also, what vagcom tool do you recommend I buy? I am planning to buy it on ebay but I don't know which one to get.

    Finally, what exactly would I need to order to add the bluetooth support to the RSN-E. I got the Audi_A3_8P_RNS_E_Bluetooth_Sharkfin_Install_V1.pdf but it is related to an older version of cars.

    Thanks guys!
    Ren​
     
  37. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member VCDS Map User

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Dont bother with an Ebay lead, many of then wont communicate fully with CAN based cars like the A3. Get a genuine one from ross-tech and then you know it will work properly and you get excellent tech support from them.

    There is no real difference between the various models, apart from the being either European or US models, check out navplus for the full breakdown.

    Some models have different hardware versions inside but this seems to make no difference in using them. Software can be updated on any model by inserting the latest Nav DVD.
     
  38. rbouzereau

    rbouzereau New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, thanks for the flash answer. I have some more questions you may be able to help me out with. See my previous message.

    Thanks!
    Ren
     
  39. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member VCDS Map User

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    If your car is an 07 then you dont need adapter.

    For BT, you need BT module + Antenna, Mic and wiring harness. All available from ebay or kufatec. Search on here or navplus. lots of threads and info regarding this retro=fit.
     
  40. rbouzereau

    rbouzereau New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Issac!
     

Share This Page