1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Symphony 2+ to Concert 2

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Mick a3, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Purchased a concert cd player from "Mattandrew" on the site, But i'm having a little trouble finding the wire to convert my old symphony 2 to this new 1.

    Here's my new stereo:

    [​IMG]


    Heres the new connection and wiring guide:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Here's my old connection(from the car) and wiring guide i need to connect into the new stereo(left the other wire in to save me putting the code back in):

    [​IMG]
    New stereo (Concert):
    [​IMG]
    Old wiring guide:
    [​IMG]
    Only possible sloution I could find online was this from Kufatec http://www.kufatec.de/shop/product_...apter---Antennenadapter---Ausbauwerkzeug.html


    Any help would be much appreciated

    Cheers
    Mick
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yep that's the cable you need mate :icon_thumright:
    #2
  3. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks mate

    Are kufatec the only folk who produce this aftermarked lead? I tried searching online bad had no such luck.
    #3
  4. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yeah I think so. At least they're the ones that more buy. It IS possible to buy the quadlock and swap the pins around but it's not worth it IMO.
    #4
  5. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mick

    Have you got those photos the right way round?

    The top one is obviously the front of your new Concert II+.

    The next one, with no labels but a shiny back is the connector on the back of the new Concert II+. I think it's called a Quadlock connector.

    The next one with "Test passed" showing is the wiring diagram of the old Symphony II unit. I think these are called ISO connectors.

    Then there's a pic of one of the connectors from your car.

    Then there's a picture with "Class 1 laserpro" showing that is the wiring diagram of the new Concert II+ unit.

    And lastly a closer photo of the back of the new Concert II+.
    #5
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm sure there's a reason to downgrade your HU, but I can't think of one.
    #6
  7. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    I knew I'd arse that up!

    Hopefully thats it fixed now, Just purchased the wirning from Kufatec at 63.28 Euro, Hopefully be here before next week and I'l let you know how i got on.

    Is there any specific reason audi has changed there wiring in the newer models? Or is this a must for RNS?

    Also my I'll be letting my Sypmphony II+ go if anyones intrested.

    Thanks again guys.
    #7
  8. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Good point!

    Why Mick?
    #8
  9. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just dont like the look of the Symphony II+ with the tape deck and the smaller screen to be honest.

    Losing the cd changer is the only really disadvantage i can really see? But the Concert plays mp3's so that makes up for that.

    Am i really making a mistake? Shed some light......

    Mick
    #9
  10. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Sounds good to me! I'm no expert though.
    #10
  11. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Symphony II+ plays mp3 CD's as well, but 6 of them and it doesn't have a tape deck, sounds like your Symphony 2+ is actually just a 2. This is a Symph2+:
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
    #11
  12. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    That'l be the confusion then....Cheers for that!

    Mick
    #12
  13. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Confuses the whatsit out of me too.

    Can anyone confirm the following:

    8P1 (-2006 Model year) might be fitted with the single DIN Concert II or double DIN Symphony II (with Cassette) and these will have ISO connectors for both main and aerial connections.

    8P2 (2007 Model year onwards) might be fitted with a double DIN Concert II+ or Symphony II+ with CD slot. For these it will have a Quadlock connector (called "Fakra" by some adapter cable manufactureres) for the main connection and two Fakra aerial connectors.

    What I really need to know is does my 2007 MY with double DIN Concert II+ definitely have the Quadlock/Fakra combination?
    #13
  14. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    They changed over to Quadlock & Fakra in 2005 so pretty sure you'll have it.
    #14
  15. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got my kufatec part in today and fitted the new concert, Everything works apart from the radio.

    I've noticed there's a brown wire in the power plug that isnt connected to anything at all?

    Any idea's?

    thanks
    Mick
    #15
  16. robby
    Offline

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you sort this problem out Mick? did you swap the aerials in the boot?
    #16
  17. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nah i never got it sorted, Just been doing without the radio mate.
    #17
  18. robby
    Offline

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you fit the new aerial amps in the tailgate? is the brown wire for BOSE?
    #18
  19. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope i never went to the hassle of changing the amps in the boot as i can live without the radio, I'm sure the brown wires still sitting behind my stereo not plugged in to anything at all, im pretty sure it aint for Bose either as everything still works(including my bose stuff) perfect bar the radio.
    #19
  20. latta1989
    Offline

    latta1989 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    What was the reason for the radio not working Mick?

    I was looking to do this too as i hate the tape deck look and prefer the newer HUs.

    Cheers
    #20
  21. kai hunterwood
    Offline

    kai hunterwood New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello robby,

    im am doing pritty much the same conversion which is symphony ii to concert iii and i am having the same problem with the radio. its really poor reception compared to what i had before with the sym ii. can you tell me more about this aerial swapping in the boot please,

    cheers kai,
    #21
  22. 1inchwarrior
    Offline

    1inchwarrior New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been getting carried away with my A3 8PA and I (foolishly) bought a Concert II+ off eBay with the hope of freshening up the interior thinking it would be a straight swap as I have a Symphony II fitted at the moment.
    Whilst doing a bit of research and reading threads on lots of different forums I would appear that it's not going to be as straight forward as I had hoped.
    Can anyone advise me on what I need to buy to upgrade to the Concert II+, my vehicle is a 55plate A3 sportback, I've looked at the kuaftec site and I am none the wiser.
    Thanks
    Ben
    #22
  23. 1inchwarrior
    Offline

    1inchwarrior New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally bit the bullet after getting no responce from anyone and stripped the boot lid to have a go.
    I have bought replacement upper and lower aerial amplifiers, removed the existing and replaced them with the newer models, connected them up leaving the 3pin connector wire from both unconnected and also the 3rd fakra connection unconnected as there is no where to connect them on the newer models and also I hadn't bought the fakra lead to connect the left over fakra lead that used to feed the lower amp to the fakra connection on the upper amp.
    The radio works fine now even without this cable fitted (although I will be fitting it when it arrives)
    #23
  24. Dan-Jnr
    Online

    Dan-Jnr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    124
    Great update will help others who are trying to do this.
    #24
  25. MattKeating
    Offline

    MattKeating Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    16
    Can you take a few photos? This may be what I need - my radio signal is shocking...
    #25
  26. 1inchwarrior
    Offline

    1inchwarrior New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 1.5m male to female fakra cable arrived, fitted between new upper amp and lower amp and everything works perfectly.

    I didn't take any pictures whilst I did it sorry. However it was dead simple. Literally take the old amps out replace with the newer amp and connect them up.

    I got the 1.5m male to female from a German eBay seller for under £10. Definatley cheaper than buying two seperate cables.
    #26

Share This Page