1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switches and/or Buttons

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    I need a switch for my rear blind mod (http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a4-s4-forum-b5-chassis/135158-rear-blind.html).
    I'd like a proper blind button from another Audi but I'm not sure if any other buttons will fit the B5 in the correct location.

    I got the facelift dash with front and rear fog light buttons. Not having front fogs is a bit of a bonus cause I can lose that button and fit something else.
    This is my current dash set up. I know the fog lights are in the wrong holes but I think it looks better. :)
    [​IMG]


    Does any one know of if the buttons from other audis will fit and match my current dash?
    And from them models do you know if they had electric rear blinds so I can rob that button off them?

    Thanks. :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Foxmeister

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
  4. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    I've read that post, how did I ever forget it.
    thinks mate.
     
  5. Soupie69uk

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have the funk one in mine - Can maybe see it in this pic?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Foxmeister

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    ^^^ Flash mother funker!!!;)
     
  7. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    what does funk do?
     
  8. Soupie69uk

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    11
    When I press it the passenger gets ejected......it does nothing. I just bought it to replace the blank.
     
  9. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Scott... you managed to wire up the fogs okay?

    I've got a facelift console to put into mine, but holding back because of the fogs...
     
  10. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Not done them yet mate.
    I might attempt them this weekend after I finished the rear blind.

    Its going to be rough job till I do the heater matrix. I'll tidy it up then along with all the other cables.

    I got a wiring diagram for it if you want?
     
  11. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've heard it's nigh-on impossible to do... especially if you haven't got the fog light control box (which I haven't) from behind the glove-box.
     
  12. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    O, yeah it is. you need that box.
    I got some thankfully.
    Its because of the switch.

    Any facelift car should have one or just fit some normal on/off switch some where.
     
  13. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Might have to go back to the breaker (if it's still there) and rob it out. Would help if a) I knew where it was and b) I knew what it looked like!
     
  14. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Remvoe the glove box its there.
    and its a block box with 2 plugs in it.
    check some of the other posts by me in the B5 section. there is more info on it in there and an image.
     
  15. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Bugger. I removed the glovebox from the breaker already. Damn it. Should have swiped it... but didn't know I needed it.

    Will check your other posts dude. Cheers!
     
  16. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team Silver Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    134
    Soupie, where can you get the "funk" switch? could do with on for a little project i have in mind :D
     
  17. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    WTF is a 'funk' switch?
     
  18. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team Silver Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    134
    :lmfao::lmfao::lmfao:
     
  19. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    its a button with 'funk' written on it (funk is german for radio)
    the button is used for taxi/emergency vehicals in germany
     
  20. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have a FUNK button also i wanted to connect it to the amp switch to turn the sub off still havent got round to it yet!
    [​IMG]
     
  21. Foxmeister

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    *Off topic*

    ^^^Ras, ive got that keyring, good taste mate!:icon_thumright:
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team Silver Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    134
    Anyone got a p/n? Ideally in the gloss black plastic rather than the lighter rubbery plastic?
     
  24. Foxmeister

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    Its in the post i linked to at the start of the thread......but seeing as im a nice guy, here you go Mr Techniker!;)

    [FONT=arial, geneva]Dash Switch (98-01) [4B0 969 903 B][/FONT]
     
  25. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    what you planning?
     
  26. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team Silver Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    134
    Wait and see :) build thread will be made as soon as I have collected all the parts ;) haha
     
  27. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    with images please.

    still waiting on pics from your arm rest thread :moa:
     
  28. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team Silver Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    134
    Ok ok smart ass. Didn't get a chance to take any pix. But it's coming out again to put some illumination in there, so will get some (and measurements) then.
     
  29. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
  30. S4_dan

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    131
    Is the dash switch just a simple 12v on/off switch? (Not one of these 'node' switches that switches from 3.7v to 4.5v?)

    If its a normal 12v switch, then it would be easy to make your own loom with a relay (or two smaller ones) and wire it up that way?

    I made a 12v relay loom for some HID headlights on a Ford KA as the KA wouldn't power the Offside headlight everytime. Very easy to make up. And cheap too! Paid £1 for two relays and already had the wire and terminals.
     
  31. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team Silver Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    134
    I meant the "Funk" switch :D not the rear blind haha

    **EDIT** found it: 8D0035775A
     
    #29 AR-rkon, Oct 22, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2011
  32. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
  33. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    The switches are momentary switches. The relay box is just a pair of latching relays.
     
  34. Foxmeister

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok ok, you crazy motherfunker!!!!:)
     
  35. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team Silver Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    134
    and just what do you mean by that :aggressive:

    :lmfao: kiddin...
     
  36. S4_dan

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    131
    So it's either purchase latching relays or change the switch......

    Still relatively simple to build a loom/relay up.

    Dan
     
  37. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    The sensible thing to do is just get the proper relay box from the car the console comes from.

    Simple enough to wire it in then.
     
  38. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    I got the switch from Audi for the my rear blind.
    [​IMG]

    One small issues, its a lefty, which is right where my fog light switch is.
    Does any one know if there is a right handed fog light switch to replace the blanking plate?
     
  39. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    isnt the left hand fog switch for the front fogs, and the middle one for the rears?
     
  40. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Yup.

    I can just remove it for now but I'd like to keep it if possible.
     
  41. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is that an A6 switch, didn't think they fitted A4's
    Different slope angle to switch front
     
  42. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Its a A4 B6.

    I've not fitted it yet, I'll do it tonight and see what it looks like.
     

Share This Page