1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switched Live?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by chrisash32, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. chrisash32

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone know where i can pull a popper switched live from in the A4?
    I did have one place where i thought there was a switched behind the glove box however this doesn't really time up with the ignition. It times with locking and unlocking of the car.

    Thoughts anyone?

    Cheers!
    Chris
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    the lighter is a good one i think or just find the ignition live mate think you can get this from the fuse box or from the ignition its self just put an inline fuse in if you do it that way though
     
  4. chrisash32

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok, i will have a go at the fuse box later and see.. i just have a vague feeling i had been there before with no such luck.
    Ideally i could do with it being in the boot....

    Cheers!
     
  5. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    i think you may have to run your own into the boot mate im not 100% sure though you maybe lucky if its in the boot you need it id say pick it up from the lighter in the center consel and run it back under the carpet
     
  6. chrisash32

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeh. i thought so.
    I wondered if there was one of the amp wire for the sub but i think this might be linked to the stereo on/off rather than the car.
     
  7. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    id think your right about the amp and id not want to cut into that my self
     
  8. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,019
    Likes Received:
    532
    Doesn't your avant have a permanent live at the 12v socket in the boot Chris?
     
  9. chrisash32

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeh, i have already tapped into that James for my fixed live feed, however I now need a switched live too :)
     
  10. BASS 666

    BASS 666 BMW aye right dead on..

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    ????
     
  11. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,019
    Likes Received:
    532
    Ah sorry.

    * Note to self - read question!
     
  12. fourcircle

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    18
    Fuse 5 is possibly switched live mate. I asked on another forum ages ago and will at some point need to check too if I put in an aftermarket HU
     
  13. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    38
    there is a thin red wire in the steering colomn that is switch and stays on till you remove the key
     
  14. Nutkin

    Nutkin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    8
    this but use it with a relay or else oyu may fry your bcm.
     
  15. Garfie

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got mine from the fuse box, cant remember which fuse though.

    Front cig lighter socket is permanently live
     
  16. WILLTHARE7

    WILLTHARE7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok ill go for the fusebox. another question lol sorry i have a aftermarket reversing camera on the cable with video input there is a small red wire coming out of each end what are they for lol
    cheers
     

Share This Page