1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switched live wire?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Markb, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 22, 2004]
    As subject where can I find a switched live wire to wire a component in near the stereo? (About 30-40Amp draw)

    Cheers!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. NWMark
    Offline

    NWMark Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 22, 2004]
    Im pretty sure there wont be a switched wire that will allow you to get 30-40amps from it unless your going to use it as a switch on a relay and then get the main power feed directly from the battery.

    Best bet is usually the stereo or interior lights, have no idea of wire colours though.

    Mark
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Oct 22, 2004]
    Yes, as Mark says, you need to wire in a 8 gauge (AWG) or bigger, fused cable straight to the battery, and use the remote on from the stereo to switch it.
    No one swiches a 30 amp connection, as the switch would have to be massive.
    #3
  5. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 22, 2004]
    Yeah I was on about using a Relay to the wire anyway.

    Are there any wires from the ignition that I can use?
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Oct 23, 2004]
    There's a switched ignition wire to the HU, red with a white stripe. Some Audi's don't have this but you can pick it up from the fuse box. Look for fuse Radio (S-Kont).
    #5

Share This Page