1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switched live wire?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Markb, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    As subject where can I find a switched live wire to wire a component in near the stereo? (About 30-40Amp draw)

    Cheers!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. NWMark

    NWMark Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im pretty sure there wont be a switched wire that will allow you to get 30-40amps from it unless your going to use it as a switch on a relay and then get the main power feed directly from the battery.

    Best bet is usually the stereo or interior lights, have no idea of wire colours though.

    Mark
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes, as Mark says, you need to wire in a 8 gauge (AWG) or bigger, fused cable straight to the battery, and use the remote on from the stereo to switch it.
    No one swiches a 30 amp connection, as the switch would have to be massive.
     
  5. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I was on about using a Relay to the wire anyway.

    Are there any wires from the ignition that I can use?
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    There's a switched ignition wire to the HU, red with a white stripe. Some Audi's don't have this but you can pick it up from the fuse box. Look for fuse Radio (S-Kont).
     

Share This Page