1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swapping instrument cluster

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by pol, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. pol
    Offline

    pol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Hi all,

    I will need to swap my instrument cluster out at some point. The LCD is buggered and I think I've damaged the speedo from trying to repair the LCD. It sounds like I'll either need to invest in some specialist cables and software or just pay someone to do it. I've read a bit about Vagtacho and VCDS.

    So I can sum up the pros and cons, can someone please explain the procedure with regards to coding, pins etc?

    I have bought a recently refurbished instrument cluster on ebay for a good price but it does not have the pin so I think I need to obtain that first. How can that be done? Vagtacho? If I had Vagtacho, could I obtain the pin / code with the new cluster plugged in to the car even though the car would be immobilised?

    I've seen the guide on Ross-tech's website but this does not document obtaining the pin in the first place.

    Thanks,

    Paul
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Dec 13, 2013]
    Which car or part numbers do you have?
    #2
  4. pol
    Offline

    pol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 13, 2013]
    Sorry, I keep forgetting this isn't a model specific forum.

    It's a 1999 a3 1.8 t sport.

    The instrument cluster part number (Audi) is 8L0 919 930 H or the VDO part number is 008.895/012.
    #3
  5. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Dec 14, 2013]
    If you post me your clocks ill be able to read the skc codes and return them for you.pm if this is good for you
    #4

Share This Page