1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swapping in dash CD changer

Discussion in 'Q3, RSQ3 Q5, SQ5 & Q7 Forum' started by quattro25years, May 22, 2013.

  1. quattro25years

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. quattro25years

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is any one out there ?
     
  4. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    I highly doubt that wouldn't work.

    I you want iPod, then AMI is for you.
     
  5. MartayMcFly

    MartayMcFly Booooooost
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    327
    It can be done, but it'll look awful. You'd need a single-DIN conversion kit of some kind (since that head unit is only half the height of an Audi unit) and a loom adapter to plug it in. Swap it for an RNS-E and AMI; it'll cost a lot more, but won't be just awful.
     
  6. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    RNSE in a Q7 .. First time for everything I suppose.

    Believe me it will not work, I would bet a months wages on it.

    First of all that CD player runs on ISO, whereas the car runs on MOST and the cd changer plugs are fibre optic.

    If you need iPod then get AMI, plenty of kits out there for your Q7, just don't make it look awful.
     
  7. MartayMcFly

    MartayMcFly Booooooost
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    327
    Oh, they've got the upper screen cowl bit right? Ok, so not RNS-E. My point was go for the OEM solution, as it'll be sure to work and won't look horrendously out of place.
     
  8. quattro25years

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, thanks for the advice ,

    Certainly don't want to make it look awful.

    i know about the dennison 500 which can be installed in the glove box for example.

    but really would like USB / memory card sockets where the CD changer is , like the audi multimedia in the dashboard of the New q7

    Any ideas , is it possible for the Audi multimedia to be retrofitted to my 56 plate q7 (have mmi high)


    Thanks
     
    #7 quattro25years, May 27, 2013
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  9. s8craig

    s8craig Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    The A5 doesn't have USB sockets in the dash, it has SD card slots if fitted with MMI 3G.

    To get USB You could use the Dension GW500 and put the USB socket from that on an extension cable to the dash somewhere.

    Something like this, but you could pop the center circle out and mount that somewhere in your Q7

    In Car Bike Motorcycle Marine USB On Dash Mount Socket Mounting Panel Extension | eBay

    It is possible to upgrade your Q7 to the same as the A5/A4/Q5, but a couple of thousand minimum for the parts and installation.
     
  10. quattro25years

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi ,

    Many thanks for the ebay item suggestion, perfect solution ! When combined with the dennison , (just have to think of a place to mount the socket)

    I have the comfort centre armrest , any reason why the denison can't be mounted in the storage well of the comfort armrest?



    interesting that the q7 can be upgraded to the A5/q5 etc but quite expensive will go with above.

    many thanks
     

Share This Page