1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swapping Audi Concert for Symphony or Multimedia

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by V8Guzzler, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. V8Guzzler

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    21
    Does anybody know, if this is possible or in fact actually done it?

    Car currently has aftermarket headunit installed (due to concert developing volume knob fault) - would it be fairly straight forward to replace with Symphony or MM unit?

    Cheers:s4addict:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    27
    If you want to get rid of a single din to accomodate a double din symphony 2 or RNS-E its fairly easy, the longest bit if the DIN cage swap. Been loads of threads on here about RNS-E installs, should tell you everything you need to know. Personally I hate seeing Audi's with non standard sound, especially Pioneer things with lots of flashing lights ewwwwwwwwwwww
     
  4. V8Guzzler

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    21
    ok great - where would the best place to find a double din cage?
     
  5. a4 cabrio

    a4 cabrio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. V8Guzzler

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yeah, just been looking at that.. it says A3 though... will it fit a 2003 S4 does anyone know?
     
  7. blucoop

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    they're 45 notes delivered from audi !!!
     
  8. a4 cabrio

    a4 cabrio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    says it will fit a4's also
     
  9. Woorlord

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... .
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    14
    #8 Woorlord, Mar 6, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2011
  10. V8Guzzler

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks all... ill keep looking.. think i will just go for the Symphony.. RNS may prove too challenging :)
     
  11. a4 cabrio

    a4 cabrio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, i was goin by what the guy put in the ad, he said fits a4 as well. was trying to help, maybe i shouldnt have unless i was sure
     
  12. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    27
    Actually the RNS-E is really easy, pre-assembled wiring loom (Bose or non-Bose), stick the GPS antenna somewhere metalic and Bobs your Uncle, the long winded bit is the double din conversion.
     
  13. V8Guzzler

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    21
    ok great, I have also heard that a new HVAC is needed or you have to cut the existing one down??
     
  14. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    27
    I bought a new climate controller when I did mine but yes you can cut the existing one down if you are good at that kind of thing.
     
  15. V8Guzzler

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ok I have picked a up and S4 with Symphony 2.. So is the change to RNS - E fairly straight forward as it's double din?
     
  16. paulsb

    paulsb Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, all you need to do is remove the synphony 2, plug in the harness, plug in the ariel lead and gps. takes about 5 minutes if you have double din.

    everything worked on mine without being programed as well.
     
  17. C17LJR

    C17LJR Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    1
    have a look on ebay or kufatec,

    you need a plug & play kit to swap these units, the kits have the iso adapter, diversity adapter, gps antenna & removal keys.
     
  18. V8Guzzler

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    21
    Sorted, thanks all - I will be giving this a go then :)
     

Share This Page