1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swapping 2010 MK2 RNS-E For 2011 Version, Plug & Play?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Paullie, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Hi Guys, I love the look of the glossy black surround on the 2011 RNS-E navi system and have treated myself to a new one, which will replace my current 2010 MK2 RNS-E. Does anyone know if it will be completely plug and play or will it need any coding done? Many thanks in advance!

    Paullie :wub: x
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. bluequattro
    Offline

    bluequattro Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Hi paullie, think it will b plug and play, dont think itll need
    Coding, im sure someone will confirm this soon tho, nice
    Purchase,

    Cal
    #2
  4. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Thanks Cal, hopefully it will be nice and easy, lol. I'll be happy enough to code it if need be, but even better if it's not required. :wub: x
    #3
  5. Rhymesaka
    Offline

    Rhymesaka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Can't help here but damn I need this in my life :banghead: :wub:
    #4
  6. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Lol, I know some peeps prefer the matt surround on the 2010 version, but I love the glossy black bit. :wub: x
    #5
  7. orfink
    Offline

    orfink Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    I know someone who will happily give the 2010 version a new home :kiss:
    #6
  8. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Lol, I hadn't thought that far ahead yet, but I guess the 2010 one will be looking for a new home as soon as my new one is fitted. :wub: x
    #7
  9. orfink
    Offline

    orfink Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    First refusal please???? :kiss: :kiss: :wub:
    #8
  10. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    First refusal is yours, Buddy. Will be in touch soon. :wub: x
    #9
  11. Adamantium
    Offline

    Adamantium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Just bought myself the glossy one too - much nicer!
    #10
  12. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    They certainly look lovely! :wub: x
    #11
  13. drnutta
    Offline

    drnutta Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Hi Paullie,

    I did this and if its new no problem... however i had to code mine to get the calibration correct and my SDS high working again.
    #12
  14. pod_4
    Offline

    pod_4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    any pics of your new RNS?
    #13
  15. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    That's great news, Dude. Thanks for that. It's brand new, so will hopefully be plug and play as you say. Fab! :wub: x
    #14
  16. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    It should arrive tomoz or the next day, hopefully, so will post piccies then, Buddy. :wub: x
    #15
  17. FOX1980
    Offline

    FOX1980 Foxy

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Hi, the RNS-E may need coding to the options fitted on your car such as bose, bluetooth and telephone e.t.c., I fitted a 2011 RNS-E to my car and had to code it as it threw up fault codes.
    #16
  18. FOX1980
    Offline

    FOX1980 Foxy

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    p.s. mine was second hand. If yours is new you may be ok.
    #17
  19. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Thanks for that, Fox! I have my current coding to hand anyway, so if it needs coding, it shouldn't be too much of a problem for me. We'll see, lol! :wub: x
    #18
  20. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    it'll be fine, i'd swap it as its never not going to work or let you use most of the functions..... then identify any issues once in, prob 50% it needs coding, if it does you'll still have the majority of functionality so no downside really
    #19
  21. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Sounds like good advice, Dude. Will give it a go and see how I get on with it, then code the bits I need if any probs arise. :wub: x
    #20
  22. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    I think you'll be extremely unlucky if everything doesn't work...best of luck :)

    Just the codes that flag when you unplug it would annoy me knowing they are there, so get the faults wiped sooner rather than later - makes any future issues easier to diagnose :)
    #21
  23. buzzkip
    Offline

    buzzkip Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Do you have any pictures of this new RNS-E? I wish I had the money to buy one and replace my Concert :/
    #22
  24. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Here's a pic of what it will look like :wub: x

    [​IMG]
    #23
  25. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    actually thinking about it Paulie, if its new you probably wont have the S3 flash up on start up which will need coding ;)
    #24
  26. buzzkip
    Offline

    buzzkip Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    How much did that set you back? O_O
    #25
  27. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    What my 2010 Mk2 RNS-E looks like at the moment :)



    [​IMG]
    #26
  28. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    uh oh....the girl needs a TPMS button :)
    #27
  29. buzzkip
    Offline

    buzzkip Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Couple of questions!

    1) Is that a cup holder on the right side of the warning light? And if so, is it retrofit?

    2) Are you selling your old RNS-E?
    #28
  30. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Cheers Bud, yeah, think you're probably right. :wub: x

    £910, ..could probably have bought a secondhand one cheaper, but wanted to make sure it's not been pinched from someone's car and wanted to source it from UK also. :)
    #29
  31. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Lol ..my ABS controller can take the coding only TPMS set up, but just havent got round to sorting it out yet. :wub: x

    1) It's a coin tray, but don't really use it.

    2) I will be selling it, but have a couple of peeps lined up already with first and second dibs. I've seen some MK1 RNS-E's for sale on here for £450, so will be asking £500 + postage for my MK2 which is in perfect condition and will come with 2010 navi disc, GPS antenna and PIN code. :wub: x
    #30
  32. buzzkip
    Offline

    buzzkip Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Ok :) PM me if they magically no longer want to buy it.

    Cheers - and coin tray..? strange :p
    #31
  33. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Looking good!

    I'd wondered if the black gloss would be bad for finger prints and dust. We're having our black door and centre console trim swapped out for alu look like yours, but will keep the black gloss RNSE. 6 weeks to go!!!
    #32
  34. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Thanks Warren, ..exciting times ahead for you! I know Rico swapped his piano black door and centre console bits out for alu ones too, ..much easier to keep looking nice. I'm really excited for you, ..lovely new S3 to look forward to!! :wub: x
    #33
  35. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Feels like it's been forever! Ordered in late April, and been nursing a worn clutch since June!

    Your car has been therapy in the meantime!
    #34
  36. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    If its new it will require coding, thats a fact.

    No such thing as a cup holder on newer cars now, but I wouldnt even contemplate a drink holder in front of my rns-e.
    #35
  37. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Sep 6, 2011]
    Amen ;)
    #36
  38. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 7, 2011]
    Lol, ah well, I'd best dust down my VCDS cable then. I've got my original coding handy, so will code the new one to match and fingers crossed it all works! Thanks very much Nigel for a definitive answer! :wub: x
    #37
  39. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 7, 2011]
    PM sent, Buddy. New RNS-E arrived this morning! :wub: x
    #38
  40. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 7, 2011]
    I thinking about updating to 2011 spec for the updated inners, not so keen on the gloss though LOL. Mine if the poverty spec original - not even chrome knobs :)

    As said, plugging it in will get it working ok but you will need to use your lead to fine tune/tweak the functions to match your car's specs
    #39
  41. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Sep 7, 2011]
    Yeah Euan, will just pop it in the car - when my removal keys turn up, lol - and see how it goes. Will have to - at very least - code Bose, BT and S3 screen logo and no doubt some other bits. I am slowly bringing mine up to 2011 spec too (have done rear lights and gloss black B pillars exterior wise), but had Piano Black dash in my last car and TBH it was VERY easily scratched, so I'm happy to leave my alu bits as they are. Have also got some new window switches with the chrome bits on and the mirror switch to be fitted. Was tempted to go to Halfrauds today to get some removal keys, but have already paid for a set on their way, so would just be a waste. Have managed to resist the temptation so far, so hopefully Mr Postman will bring them tomoz, so I can get the thing fitted, lol! Will let you know how it goes :wub: x
    #40

Share This Page