Superior front bulbs?

au_sjo

Reaction score
Hi all..:scared2:

Having recently aquired my first non-HID Audi I must say i'm a bit dissapointed with the front light output.

Anyone have any suggestions or preference on front bulbs? I don't want anything that's going to a) cook the wiring or b) saturate the reflector and blind everyone.

been there done that. tried new philips 55w, tried Osram +85% high outputs, tried 100w (which I have been running for 6 months)
to be honest doing one light at a time I could not tell which ones were the £35 high output and which were the crap ones I just threw away!

spend some money on a HID kit. too much marketing in the bulb business, not enough difference in product

my 2p

jcb- thanks.

I think if I was going to HID, i'd go for the OEM stuff not a conversion kit. Not something i'm super fussed about doing at the moment.

The Osram silver stars are as good as you are going to get for a normal bulb. Have you got facelift lights? If so, HId's are you best bet for light output, just be aware without washers and self leveling you are in a grey area of legality

you are in a grey area of legality

Its not really grey at all!

No washers, no auto levelling and HID bulbs fitted to non HID type approved lamps are illegal.

MOT testers have been informed about the upgrade kits by VOSA and are supposed to fail your car with one fitted, as with anything, some do, some dont. You'll probably get away with it if you have the washers and autolevelling fitted, using a conversion kit in the original lamps as its a bit harder to check that.

The bigger worry in my eyes would be if you were to be involved in an accident with them fitted, and the other party was to claim "i was blinded" or something similar, you'd quite likely be over a barrel. An accident caused by you fitting "dangerous" components to your car could be classed as dangerous driving. Its a worst case scenario sure, but your still taking the risk.