1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sump oil level sensor conversion

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by lucksta, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. lucksta
    Offline

    lucksta Audi OCD

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 19, 2009]
    Hey guys, need a new sump so thinking I might get one with an oil level sensor as I don't currently have one. Do you know if the sensor would be easy enough to rig up? Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    274
    [Apr 19, 2009]
    You could easily fit the sump and the sender, but the level warning is built in to the dash/DIS so you would need to fit a later dash, get the immo recoded to suit and probably change some of the wiring loom form the dash to the engine.

    So in a word doable, well yeah, anything is. Easy,No !
    #2
  4. lucksta
    Offline

    lucksta Audi OCD

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 19, 2009]
    Probably more work than is worth it unless I was to put a bulb in the...christ who gives a **** there's a dipstick isn't there? I check it all the time and it hardly budges and that's only because the sump plug leaks. That's why I was gonna get a sump - I know I could helicoil it but you do see some bargins on ebay and one just went with an oil sensor for five english pounds plus postage. I should of got it, bolted the sensor in and then left it like that.

    Cheers for the advice Mark
    #3

Share This Page