1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stumped

Discussion in 'Air Conditioning' started by boyrollo, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. boyrollo
    Offline

    boyrollo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    right had my aircon recharged today all is fine however zero cold air mechanic sayed i should hear a click when i push the aircon button but zero click so should i replace the relay???? if so where is it located
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Relay?? The click should be in the engine bay and it's the electromagnetic clutch not a relay. Have a read of the FAQs thread for more info.
    #2
  3. s4marsh
    Offline

    s4marsh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    2
    if it has too much or too little gas in the system the compressor wont kick in either but i do hear a relay click in the fuse box when i switch mine on
    #3
  4. boyrollo
    Offline

    boyrollo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right had a look in the engine bay and nothing seems to go on when the air-con is switched on???? also if i push the recirc button the aircon switches on ie i get the snowflake on the display.....any body any ideas??? oh and leon only said relay as thats what the garage said they never heard a click when they switch it on
    #4
  5. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    Similar problem in THIS thread, but no answer for you yet I'm afraid.
    #5
  6. boyrollo
    Offline

    boyrollo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    going to check these not sure if it will tell me what i need to know but hay any body know what values i should see ref the A/C clutch voltage etc ie if the compresser is fubar it should be zero its its working should be 12ish

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?p=749487
    #6
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I'm not sure I understand the question mate. I you can check the clutch voltage when the air con is enabled then do it!
    #7

Share This Page