1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck! Radio signal booster bypass.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JJ.Foulds, Sep 29, 2013.

  1. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    169
    [Sep 29, 2013]
    So my radio has no been working for several months now. The radio signal at the start would work, then i would go over a bump and it would not work. Now it does not work in the slightest and now i need some help.

    I have removed the boot trim to reveal the signal booster, now im looking for a way to bypass the boost amp completley so i can check if it is the boost amp or the cable somewhere. If someone could help me with the correct cables as theres alot going into it which is a bit confusing considering its just the amplify the signal.

    If i can bypass the amp, i will know that it is the cable snapped somewhere.

    Thanks,
    JJ.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 27, 2015]

  3. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    169
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    anyone got any ideas? :)
    #2
  4. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    169
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    :( <--- me with no radio and listening to the same old CD's
    #3
  5. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    169
    [Oct 4, 2013]
    i have tryed searching for which cables are the ariel so i can bypass the booster but im not finding anything, surely someone can just help me! :(

    JJ
    #4
  6. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,913
    Likes Received:
    387
    [Oct 4, 2013]
    What have you tried so far?






    "free bump" ;)
    #5
  7. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Oct 4, 2013]
    Just had a quick look in my Haynes manual and it appears there are two modules - one connects to canbus and manages the power to the aerial amp and the Heated Rear window.

    It appears the aerial module (not the amp) has a power connector and two fakra connectors - both of these feed aerial signal to the HU - the HU has two aerial connectors, either twin Fakra or one ISO/DIN and one Fakra depending on year/model. This module also supplies the HRW as far as I can make out.

    The amp is also supplied from the aerial module - so you should see a three wire connector from the aerial module into the amp.
    There is another connection which is the connection to the aerial elements in the glass.

    I wish you the best of luck, but given the way the system works, I'm not sure the simple "bypass" diagnostic is going to work (or is even possible) - the amp doesn't work like the "trad" ones I've seen before where there's a simple aerial in/out.
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2013
    #6
  8. JJ.Foulds
    Offline

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    169
    [Oct 4, 2013]
    this was and wasnt the news i wanted to hear lol. well im only trying to bypass to check if it is the booster not working, as i think its the cable somewhere. i will have a look in a bit! THANKYOU john!

    JJ.
    #7

Share This Page