1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck on head unit to Phatbox connections!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by chrisn900, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 5, 2009]
    [​IMG]I've purchased a phatbox and cable .
    The cable has a round connector at one end which connects to the phatbox
    My head unit is a standard concert cd player (06 plate car)
    I'm very stuck on how to connect the cable to the head unit, the blue connector on other end of cable is , i believe, a mini iso one. Have i got the wrong connector as I can find nowhere to plug it.
    Can i remove the wires from the blue connector and insert them into one of the existing connectors
    I've taken some pictures , but don't know how to post them on here.
    Please help a confused old buffer who is feeling miserable at not being able to play with his new toy !
    Thanks
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2009
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 5, 2009]
    sorry , I thought I'd figured out how to post a pic
    I'm off to have a think now before I annoy anyone : ((
    #2
  4. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 5, 2009]
    #3
  5. RS84
    Offline

    RS84 R15 - TDI Power

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 5, 2009]
    Alright mate,

    seems like you have the same setup as me. Haven't seen your pics yet but it sounds like you need this adapter;

    [​IMG]

    I needed it when I fitted my phatnoise to my concert 2 HU. Bought it from here;

    http://www.kufatec.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p562_Adapter---VW-Audi---Dividable-Mini-ISO.html

    You need to join the blue mini ISO block to the green and yellow mini ISO blocks to form one rectangular ISO block that goes into the back of the HU. Your existing cables go into the red part of the adapter.

    Hope this helps. Any questions fire way...
    #4
  6. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 6, 2009]
    #5
  7. rickyquicky
    Offline

    rickyquicky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 6, 2009]
    is this to hook up a subwoofer to the standard concert head unit?

    im thinking of adding a subwoofer to mine and was wondering how to do it but still keep the standard head unit...
    #6
  8. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 7, 2009]
    Just a guess,but could you use the wiring from the standard subwoofer in the boot?
    Extend the wires to your new subwoofer ???
    #7
  9. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2009]
    I've got all these cables now and connected them as indicated
    There is no power to the phatbox, no lights come on the unit,the cd radio still works but there is nothing from the phatbox.
    Do I need to earth it or something ?
    If so, how please ???
    #8
  10. RS84
    Offline

    RS84 R15 - TDI Power

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 17, 2009]
    Alright Chris mate, how's the install going?

    Yes, the Phatbox will only power up once it's earthed.

    Does your mini ISO cable into the back of the HU have a brown earth coming off it too?
    #9
  11. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2009]
    hi RS84
    No, there appears to be no brown earth lead from the blue mini iso connector from the phatbox to the hu
    Do you know where I have to put one and where to ??
    Thanks :))
    #10
  12. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 18, 2009]
    Power, lights, music !!
    I've worked out how and where to earth the unit, it's all working now, so I just have to take 'Alfred' to bits to route the cable.
    I can manage that, as it's just a case of unclipping bits of trim and removing the glovebox etc.
    Thanks for all your help !!
    #11
  13. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 18, 2009]
    Here's Alfred : ) (named after the butler in Batman ha ha)
    [​IMG]
    #12
  14. RS84
    Offline

    RS84 R15 - TDI Power

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 18, 2009]
    Good to hear you got sorted.

    Where did you mount the unit?
    #13
  15. chrisn900
    Offline

    chrisn900 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    unit will be mounted in boot on passenger side.
    That's where I've read it's best to put it for ease of wiring run.
    #14

Share This Page