1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange one for you guys

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Paradox1, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    ok ive had a slight hesitation problem for about a year now. only on light throttle from 2k & below. On tuesday it was P1ssing down with rain and i noticed the car was surging a lot more on part throttle. got the the point where I put it in seconds, it surged up to 2k then the car stalled on me. This happend twice that day. Now it dry weather, its like it gone back to normal. My friends who had a saab Turbo said his used to do the same thing in heavy rain. I got it scanned and nothing was found. Doing my head in
    #1
  2. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    44
    :superman: Sounds like you have a problem with the engine or something connected to it!
    #2
  3. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yeah somethings deffy not right but where do I start?

    n75 is only a year old.
    Forge actuator a Year old
    PCV bypassed
    N249 Bypassed
    Checked for boost leaks, cant find none

    any one got any ideas?? or has had this problem before
    #3
  4. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    44
    Sorry for my flippant response. Had just drunk a whole can of coke - sugar rush!

    Electrics perhaps?

    Mine is a bit 'random' when it's wet/humid and I know the coil pack wiring loom is in need of replacement. Also perhaps water on your ECU? :(
    #4
  5. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 come fly with me

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    211
    I had the same problem, it only happened for one day. After that its been running fine, i got Dan from 4 rings to come check it out the next day but couldn't spot anything as the car ran normal. Its one of those problems we have to wait till it rears it head again, VCDs didn't pick anything up either. I did a post about a week ago, suggestions were to check plugs and coils packs. Worth a try?
    #5
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,792
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Forge actuator? they aren't the best tbh... they have very little travel and stick..

    Surge? as in actual turbo surge? sounds unlikely on your setup... by stall do you mean actual stall or throttle cut? we are of course talking about your Golf here?

    <tuffty/>
    #6
  7. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    133
    Are your cars allergic to water? I think mine might be as things only seem to go wrong when it's raining!

    On a serious note, I would say coilpack/coil pack wiring. Next time it rains, set up some logs via vcds and hope the problem happens again..
    #7
  8. badger5
    Online

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,283
    Likes Received:
    673
    plugged in and seen anything logged?
    whats your 032 fuel trims look like?
    #8
  9. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yeah its my AUM golf Tuffty, maybe im not explaining it correctly. I will be driving calmly, barely touching the trottle, but it feels like I floored it until 2k. the either it just pulls back or stalls. When I say stalls, i mean engine stall

    Bill im going to see my mate on monday who has Vag Com so I will get him to log those fuel trims while he is at it.
    Is there anything else I can get him to check/log while he has the car plugged in?
    #9
  10. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yeah I sort of wish I just got a standard actuator as mine was apparently weak.
    #10
  11. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    31
    Tried cleaning and realigning the throttle body yet?
    #11
  12. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Completely forgot about that. may be worth a try. Thanks
    #12
  13. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    From my experiance the n249 bypass on thise engines seems to not like it,n75 deleat ok,but n249 bypass dnt think how the cars are designed,does'nt like the bypass.just a thought.
    #13
  14. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    To be honest, I tries the n249 to resolve the problem but all it did was make the throttle response sharper ans change the tone of the dv.worse comes to worse ill take it to bill or back to r tech to have a look at
    #14
  15. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Interesting read I found scroll down to where is say boost surge

    http://www.r-techpower.co.uk/r-tech-latest-news.php

    Once I get the forge actuator checked out on Monday ill take it to r tech
    #15
  16. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Right,little update.just got the car back from the mechanic.he changed the n75 which was less than a year old.he said it now runs better but isn't how it should be.I haven't had a chance to drive it properly to see if it still happens.I have noticed though that its more powerful. I think I will book it in with r tech next week and see what they can do for me.I'm no tuner but perhaps if they just load on a stage 2 and custom map it,it may resolve the problem. I currently have a 1.5 as I didn't have a fmic before
    #16

Share This Page