1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange happenings when it rains...

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Clawdi, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 17, 2013]
    I don't know why but recently it was raining, I put my a3 in reverse and my rear wiper went off at the same time my radio switched off, now the radio doesn't remember any settings even if I leave the fascia on ( pioneer p5900 unit), this only happens when it's raining, it's happened before when I had a normal pioneer CD player but didn't erase the settings just restarted the unit, anyone have any clues about this? I've read a few threads on here that I may need to change the rear wiper motor as it doesn't sprinkle the water out, but would this affect my radio that it won't let the memory save the settings on the radio?

    -.- confused and annoyed as I need to change my clutch and now the radio being ****.. Lol
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,916
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    [Aug 17, 2013]
    Does it only happen when its put in reverse?
    #2
  3. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 17, 2013]
    Yeah, I put it on reverse and it makes the wiper go off when it's raining, it never used to do that though, just started recently but since I've bought the car the water has never come out from the rear wiper when you depress the rear wiper stalk. When I put it on reverse and the weather is fine the wiper doesn't go off, & oo I nearly forgot, the radio would work with out my ignition on before it cut on on me and now it doesn't. I need to have the ignition on for it to power on, I don't know if that helps?
    #3
  4. Soot1
    Offline

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    The rear wiper will wipe once when you reverse, thats normal. I guess you have auto wipers as I do. The washers are a different matter and are probably blocked, washer tube loose etc.
    #4
  5. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    So the rear wiper should go on if its raining and I put it on reverse? But why would that reset my radio? Also stop the radio from working unless the ignition is on and reset the settings? That's what's killing me at the moment, all the wiring is still the same but all of a sudden it doesn't save the settings, I can live with it not powering unless the ignition is on as I was going to re-wire so it wouldn't drain my battery but I can't live with constantly having to do my settings and retune the radio lol very frustrating
    #5
  6. Soot1
    Offline

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    The wiper obviously has nothingto do with the radio. Have got the the 2x 12v. live feeds to the radio the right way round. Reverse the 2x12v. feeds just to see wat happens, it wo'nt do any harm.
    #6
  7. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    Well it must have something to do with it otherwise it wouldn't switch off when it goes on, the wiring on the radio is correct
    #7
  8. Soot1
    Offline

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    It is an odd problem, I have no more ideas, so lets see if anyone else has an idea.
    #8
  9. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    Mate I was shocked my self, it used to restart the other cd player I had before when ever the rear wiper went off as well
    #9
  10. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 19, 2013]
    No one ever had any of these issues before? Or does anyone have any other ideas why my memory on the radio has gone and no longer saves the settings? :(
    #10
  11. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    29
  12. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 19, 2013]
    If that's blown wouldn't the radio stop powering on all together?

    Also that's the fuse on the engine bay fuse box right?
    #12
  13. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 19, 2013]
    The radio may run off the ignition live - the permanent live is to keep radio settings when the ignition is off.

    The fuse should be behind the radio in the harness.
    #13
  14. Clawdi
    Offline

    Clawdi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 19, 2013]
    That be the fuse on the red wire? On the harness, as mine has one on the yellow wire as well I believe I've checked both but ill re-check again, you could be right mate and I've just slipped the check completely :$ lol thanks mate! Ill check first thing tomorrow morning!

    I am still to wonder though if the fuse has blow, why would it have blown when the rear wipe went off? That's what still intrigues me... -.-
    #14
  15. Soot1
    Offline

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 20, 2013]
    This is what I'm getting at, When the 2 live feeds are reversed you turn the ignition off remove the key and you loose the radio memory because there is no live feed at all, hence the memory is lost. At all other times whilst you have the key set at accessory position and driving the radio memory will work. My guess is as you have an aftermarket radio the 12v. feeds have been changed somewhere. I've had this fault on my previous SEAT and that was what I found.
    #15

Share This Page