1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange Door Problem

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by 22imy22, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. 22imy22
    Offline

    22imy22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    Hi Guys hope someone can help me, i recently bought an audi a4 2003 (B6) and noticed on the dash that when i open the drivers door it shows front passenger door open and when i open the front passenger door it shows drivers door open? the back doors are correct. i dont know whats going on here the cars not been recorded for any accident damage.
    hope its easy as just sawpping some wires over can someone please point me in the right direction to where these wires (iso) would be.
    really much appreciate it guys. thanks in advance
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    I would think its either a coding problem or a door connector.
    #2
  4. Widemonkeys
    Offline

    Widemonkeys 1st Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    Mine has started to do this a few weeks ago after coming back from the dealers. I'd be interested if someone knew the answer
    #3
  5. Alan H
    Offline

    Alan H Need a V8 or Bi-Turbo.......

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    Mine's the same....
    #4
  6. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Jul 10, 2011]
    It sounds like a problem with the convenience module.
    #5
  7. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    Probably coding problem as the drivers door has a control module to control all windows / mirrors / locking etc. and based on if this is orientated as left hand drive vs right hand drive will give you these problems. All sensor swithes on locks will be routed through the respective door control units and communicated to the convenience module over CanBus, so doubt it's a wiring problem.

    Check Coding for "+128" as listed below,

    Convenience Module Coding [46] << Link Here to RossTech site

    • +00001 = GB-Alarm (not USA)
    • +00002 = Confirmation Anti-Theft Warning System (Blink)
    • +00004 = Selective Central Locking (SCL)
    • +00008 = Anti-Theft Warning System
    • +00016 = Rear Lid Release Locking at 5 km/h
    • +00032 = Central Locking at 15 km/h (or 10 mph)
    • +00064 = Comfort Function via Remote Control (not USA)
    • +00128 = Right Hand Drive (RHD)
    • +00256 = Avant
    • +00512 = Confirmation Close via Remote (1x Blink)
    • +01024 = Confirmation Anti-Theft Warning Sytem Horn Activation
    • +02048 = Door-/Window Regulator Logic
    • +04096 = Thatcham Anti-Theft Warning (not USA)
    • +08192 = No Safe-Function
    • +16384 = Side Windows with Insulated Glass
    #6
    22imy22 likes this.
  8. 22imy22
    Offline

    22imy22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Thanks Mate that helps a lot, ill look into this further thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
    #7
  9. JamesWoods
    Offline

    JamesWoods New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Yea defo a coding issue mate.
    #8
  10. 22imy22
    Offline

    22imy22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    hi just one last hing how can i resolve this coding issue? can i do it my self? thank you
    #9
  11. Widemonkeys
    Offline

    Widemonkeys 1st Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    I changed the coding and hey presto it worked, but it stopped my remote windows and alarm blip sound from working.
    #10

Share This Page