1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stereo Upgrade Help Please..?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by iyrix, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,904
    Likes Received:
    479
    [Apr 3, 2010]
    Is that aimed at anyone specific or in general?

    If it's in general, then yes you can.
    #41
  2. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 3, 2010]
    I can't
    #42
  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Apr 3, 2010]
    You can only do that on stock HU's or Blaupunkt aftermarket, no idea why you'd want to though.
    #43
  4. Nutkin
    Offline

    Nutkin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 4, 2010]

    Mine does it, to get arround the switched live i just connected perm live to both.

    Allows me to boom without ignition on or keys in so when im at petrol station the fionce can continue listening to her podcast or something. Its only really useful in scarce situations.

    I got the same stereo as above though but i need to hook up my rear speakers etc.
    #44
  5. slepy
    Offline

    slepy Extremely smart and handsome person. VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    91
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    That's what I was thinking. It shouldn't work the same way as audi stereo. When you take the key out it will not turn on.
    And because of that would prefer how Nutkin's got it sorted. All is needed is to connect yellow wire with red one on your head unit.
    If someone asks why it's better - because for example I can clean my car and listen to radio without keys being inside.
    #45
  6. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    That makes sense to me Slepy! I'm a sucker for trying to make things work like oem lol. Sad!
    #46
  7. iyrix
    Offline

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    Right, relay is all installed.

    Thanks for your help

    G.
    #47
  8. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    All good buddy?
    #48
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    What, you don't trust your fiance to leave the keys in the ignition? Not a good basis for marriage.......
    #49
  10. iyrix
    Offline

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    yeah great, all seems fine. There were a lot of cables in there at the end, but loads of room.

    The only change i might ake going forward is the extra power feed on ther aerial, i currently have 1 lot of power going to the aerial and i could add the second.

    Going out tomorrow so will give it a good test.

    Cheers mate.
    #50
  11. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    Good to hear!
    Good to be of help for once, instead of hassling 1wheel for rns-e info lol
    #51

Share This Page