1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stereo removal, couple of Q's

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by L60N, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. L60N

    L60N Guest

    Hi Guys,

    I put the Audi keys into my stereo which were lent, kindly by Lee (Mitch78)

    Anyway, I cant pull the buggers out! Is there a knack to it as currently my fingers are red raw from trying to tug them out with brute force and ignorance :sob:

    One more thing; the unit that was shipped from the factory - I cant find a security code for it in my likkle pack. Is there a way to retrieve the key? Do they come from the factory with a security code? I dont want to power it down until im sure i can fire it back up again in the future!

    Many thanks guys.

    Leon
     
  2. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    When you have the unit out of the dash just push in on the springy clippy things - two on each side for a double din unit. If you pull out on the key at the same time it should just pop out.

    Your unit won't require the security code as long as you plug it back into the same car. They should come from the factory with a security code - should be on the inside cover of the radio manual. Failing that, a trip to your dealer to have them hook up their computer to the car will allow them to retrieve the code from the central Audi database. VAGCOM won't do it for you, so it will need a trip to the dealer.
     
  3. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
     
  4. L60N

    L60N Guest

    The Stereo hasnt landed yet mate, i was just curious and decided to pull my stereo out, turned into a bit of a nightmare :haha:

    Got the keys out now though (Cheers Marc) :blush:
     
  5. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
     
  6. Kontraband

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2
    L6ON:haha: I can see you puzzling over those keys now!!
     
  7. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    It can sometimes be tricky getting stereo's out even with corrects keys, least the comment about code now make sense to me, as my mate blew a fuse in his when trying to replace his failed amp with a better one and he didnt need the code.
     
  8. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Think the problem was that he had the stereo out, but couldn't get the keys out.
     
  9. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    oops :think:
     
  10. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    as mentioned, press the clips in with your fingers from the side and gentle pull the keys out. There are a few keys that fit and the afermarket ones are a bit more general, The proper Vag ones work much better.
    Somebody gave me a radio pin prog for the pc.. dont ask me to send it on!, but if you send me your serial number, i can enter it and see what pops out...
     
  11. L60N

    L60N Guest

    Thanks mate, but I found the pin, as Marc said, its on the inside cover of the manual :)
     
  12. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    If all else fails, :rtfm:
     
  13. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,109
    Likes Received:
    834
    I needed to take my radio (Concert III) out a few weeks ago in connection with hard wiring a connection for my new TomTom cradle. I already have some radio keys somewhere but do you think I could find them. Anyway I called into Halfords and purchased some more, but do you think I could get it out. The keys went in OK but the radio was a tight fit and the keys just pulled out.

    In the end I called in to my dealers and asked if there was any chance of the taking it out for me. No problem - a technician got a set of the proper Audi keys and it came out straight away. No charge either!
     
  14. Kontraband

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2
    set of 4 from Audi Chesterfield are £8.14 if anyones interested, but as h5djr said he'd done it, I decided to call Audi Sheff and ask them to take it out.

    Called them up... said their parts deptartment had none in stock so could they just whip the stereo out? Service guy didnt know if they could, so he had to go ask the tech! Anyway, he came back and said, no problem just bring it down. SO...will do that after work as my RNS-E landed in record time (3 days from Lituania, result!).

    Then I think a mini evening Yorkshire meet might be on the cards! ;)
     
  15. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, mine came from Lithuania too and arrived in three days, even though I ordered it on the Thursday night and the Friday was a bank holiday over there.

    Has anyone figured out why the majority of RNS-e units (and Merc\BMW\VW) units on eBay are coming from Lithuania? Surely they can't all be stolen! Is that where they are made, or is there some sort of refurbishment facility there?
     
  16. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
     
  17. Kontraband

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2
    I looked into who manufactured the RNS-E recently and cant for the life of me remember the site I found that supposedly 'manufactured' the box..... dont think it was in Lituania tho....
     
  18. Kontraband

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2
    yeah, mine also comes with the code card sheet so I guess if you want to look to the dark side then they are nicking them and recreating a fake card?? Seems a bit excessive. The package it came in is actually all labelled up with the senders details etc etc, which I woulndt have thought they'd want to do if they were nicked?

    Mitch have spoke to JohnS3 and hes up for an evening meet up, and I'm sure L6ON will be too. :)
     
  19. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mine had the card too. Didn't think they'd be stolen, but it can't be a case of everybody in Lithuania buying their A3 with the RNS-e and then swapping them out for an aftermarket head unit and then losing a fortune selling it on.
     
  20. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Leon may have to get approval from she who must be obeyed first. She put the kibosh on his audisportball trip......:moa:
     
  21. Kontraband

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has she?? Oh dear... :blow:

    Will check out his thumb print next time I see him then!
     
  22. Kontraband

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2

    I found 'The RNS-E is manufactured by Aisin Ltd. in Japan ' so that would rule out them being shifted direct from source. Still doesnt answer the Lithuania question tho.
     

Share This Page