1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stereo not working properly

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Plunky, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. Plunky
    Offline

    Plunky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 6, 2009]
    i've just fitted my alpine head unit in my a3, (the headunit has worked perfectly in previous cars) the headunit works ok but i have noticed when the ignition is fully on, the display flashes ever so slightly but does not when the ignition is off but the key is still in the ignition. also i have noticed that the stereo is not holding its memory, i.e. the eq settings do not save when the car is switched off.

    anyone have any ideas whats up with it?

    Cheers

    Liam
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Aug 6, 2009]
    You just need to swap over the perm live and the "ignition on" live as Audi wire them back to front. So if the Alpine has it's own loom, then chop the red and yellow wires and reconnect the red to yellow and yellow to red, saves chopping the Audi loom.
    #2
  4. Plunky
    Offline

    Plunky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 7, 2009]
    thanks very much mate.. just swapped the wires around and it works perfect! :D
    #3

Share This Page