1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Steering wheel buttons wrong

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by gixerson, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. gixerson

    gixerson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Much appreciated thank you.

    I'll see what happens with the airbag first

    Hi Boon,

    Thanks for your help.

    I've been doing some reading up and searching, but i've found it difficult to get exact information from sources that seem to know what they're talking about.

    Will that steering module be ok if i need to go back to a older steering wheel to get the airbag to work?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. gixerson

    gixerson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok guys i'm ready to pull the plus and order a "8P0 953 549 F" module.

    I would be extremely grateful if someone could confirm 100% that

    a/ This is the module i need

    b/ This will work on my car:
    Late 2004
    LHD
    V6 3.2
    A3
    With cruise control and DSG

    c/ That the module will be compatable with all the other modules?


    Thanks, Mark.
     
  4. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    I havnt had chance to get back to this thread, I'll have a read over it again today, the F module will work fine & is the highline version, I have one available.
     
  5. gixerson

    gixerson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sounds good, can you work out a price for me shipped to Athens, Greece please?



    Cheers
    Mark
     
  6. gixerson

    gixerson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Update,

    Massive thank you to Mike and Nigel.
    I replaced the steering module today and the buttons and dials are working as they should.

    :arco:

    Couple more questions though please.

    1/ Does anyone have a list of the voice commands and what they control please?
    I bought my car second hand and the manual is in German, so not much use to me.

    2/ What exactly does the Mode button do?
    Couldn't get it to do much today.


    I need to sync my contacts via bluetooth tomorrow as it's not syncing at present.
    Done a bit of searching and found i do not have "comfort mode" enabled, so will have a play with that tomorrow.
     
  7. JPK

    JPK Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have a separate question too. Is this steering wheel module required if I already have high line DIS? I have a non MF DSG steering wheel currently
     
  8. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    55
    1/If you press the voice command button, the nice lady will give you a list of possible commands.

    2/ Once your phone has been synced via bluetooth, you can then use the mode button to switch between phone contacts on your DIS, and the radio.

    As you already have a DSG wheel, then you already have the correct highline module and airbag harness. You will only need a new steering wheel and a bit of coding to get it to work.
     
  9. JPK

    JPK Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    22
    So MF buttons will work also without swapping modules? Slipring also required for MFFBSW?
     
  10. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Yes and Yes. You already have the correct module and slip ring but if you want flat bottomed wheel you will also need new airbag and wiring harness.
     
  11. gixerson

    gixerson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks Danny.

    Well had a play today, coded:
    #37: 0225718
    #77: 0000422

    Geting "Please insert Sim card" and no bluetooth icon

    [​IMG]

    I have bluetooth module 8P0 862 335 A, which after a search comes back as "basic module" is this the problem?



    Cheers
    Mark
     

Share This Page