1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

steering stalk controls a4

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by stuartyp, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. stuartyp
    Offline

    stuartyp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    i have a 2005 a4 and i am wanting to fit an alpine headunit. I would like to keep the steering controls my alpine has a 3 mm jack plug at the rear of it for them does anyone know the connects code for the product i need..
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,225
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Steering controls go via the canbus system, I assume the jack plug is for an ir remote of some shape or form, you need a direct can connection to accept the steering controls unless alpine have a can to IR unit, which I doubt but hey.

    What model alpine is it?
    #2
  3. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    58
    is this the same sturtyp from t/a?

    if so im afraid your on a changover year mate so it could be either of these

    ctsd002 (2005 onwards) or ctsd003:2 (upto 2005) be carefull as some suppliers require you to buy a patch lead also
    #3
  4. stuartyp
    Offline

    stuartyp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2

    Yes mate that's me it's for my DVI9990r F1
    #4
  5. stuartyp
    Offline

    stuartyp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    mate it's a DVI9990r F1 unit. I have a friend that fitted one to his Astra and he used the 3mm plug at the rear of his and It works fine. So I'm wanting to compete next year so I'm looking into this.
    #5
  6. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    58
    if you wanna pm me your reg buddy ill try and get the correct one for you tommorow

    nath

    i aint got steering controls in my car but if this is doable i may look into retrofitting them and putting them on my f1 for ease of use
    #6
  7. stuartyp
    Offline

    stuartyp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    It defo works mate. My reg is ky05xuh. Like I said a friend has done it and he said it goes into the 3mm jack on the back of the unit. So I hope it helps you.
    #7
  8. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    I had an Apline HU in an A3 8P with steering wheels controls, unfortunately the interfaces were just black boxes so I can't help you with options. But the system is sitting my mates A3 and works perfectly well.
    #8
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,225
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    #9
  10. stuartyp
    Offline

    stuartyp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think you can buy a patch lead that goes into the black box and turns out a jack plug.
    #10
  11. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    58
    yes usally the patch leads are about £5 but depend on what make headunit your using
    #11

Share This Page