1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Started my 2din conversion pics

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by S3 MRU, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    Cage arrived this morning £18 bargain thanks sub. Climate unit was broken got it for 15 quid swapped a few bits around with my single din one so bargain there too. Starte work straight away and in an hour I got this far

    [​IMG]

    I still need to purchase all the buttons and surround got quotes from Audi and it comes to £90!!! For the facelift buttons single chrome strip facelift. Was not to bad getting the cage out . Easier getting it in.

    Very happy so far
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. bluequattro
    Offline

    bluequattro Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    Nice one m8, your fairly cracking on now

    Cal
    #2
  4. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    Only thing I'm worried about is when I bought the car someone had one of them stupid handsfree things chopped into the stereo loom. Don't know if it wil affect an RNs e unit. Basically I chopped off the mic phone cradle and taped them up and tucked them away
    #3
  5. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    I did my conversion ok. Just got to make sure you take your time.
    #4
  6. sduk
    Offline

    sduk Audi Baby!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    looks great mate, what headunit is going in?
    #5
  7. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    Eventually an rns-e. When I can save up enough :( how much am I looking for a fully working rns-e?
    #6
  8. V16
    Offline

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    ebay! they can range anywhere between 350 - 700.

    Can't wait to eventually do this! now fill up some fuel before it's to late :laugh:
    #7
  9. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    Lol I usually fill up when the indicator comes on. That's my temperature guage
    #8
  10. V16
    Offline

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    haha but, i'm sure pic in your DIS is the fuel pump symbol :blink:
    #9
  11. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    Ahh yeah it had just come on. What happens if the car completely runs out?
    #10
  12. PaulTheo
    Offline

    PaulTheo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    2
  13. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    Obviously but older diesels used to have problems when the diesel system was run dry
    #12
  14. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 28, 2010]
    Looking good mate
    #13
  15. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Nov 5, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    This is where I am at now. Wired in the light for the card tray
    #14
  16. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Nov 5, 2010]
    what p/n did you use for the card tray with the light, and where did you get your power supply for it from?

    cheers

    S.
    #15
  17. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Nov 5, 2010]
    looking good btw!
    #16
  18. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Nov 5, 2010]
    Hey sub part no was the one on the list came with the led built in. And I used some 12v wire exposed the two pins at the back of the card tray routed them down to the ash tray light and lights up fine
    #17
  19. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Nov 5, 2010]
    Does anyone know what Adapter u need to power RNs-e in my car? I have a 53 plate 2.0tdi 140 without Bose audio system
    #18

Share This Page