1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Standard S3 turbo boost

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by willh92, Dec 9, 2013.

  1. willh92
    Offline

    willh92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 9, 2013]
    Hi all,

    wondering what the S3 turbo runs boost wise as standard? Mine's a 210bhp model

    Cheers,

    Will
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,282
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Dec 9, 2013]
    Around 12 psi give or take.
    #2
  4. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 10, 2013]
    My s3 boost goes unto 20psi . Is this not standard ?
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,924
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    [Dec 10, 2013]
    Nope... its either mapped or broken...:)

    <tuffty/>
    #4
    Gops likes this.
  6. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 10, 2013]
    I would like to say mapped but with all the luck I've had with this car . More than likely broken . It only started going to 20psi once I had a new battery fitted . Is it possible that an old map has returned.
    #5
  7. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    114
    [Dec 10, 2013]
    Have you had it logged for boost (request/actual) and fuelling?
    #6
  8. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 10, 2013]
    Had no logging done . I was told it was a standard car when I brought it and the boost gauge never shown the boost going above 12psi . I've not long had a new battery fitted and once it was done the car just felt different and with more poke . That's when I noticed the boost now going as far as 20psi . I know the battery couldn't of done to alter the boost level . I was thinking could the garage I brought the off deleted a map and some how it's reappeared ? . Sounds stupid I know .
    #7
  9. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    286
    [Dec 10, 2013]
    this is my new signature haha!!
    #8
    JoeeS3 and <tuffty/> like this.
  10. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    114
    [Dec 10, 2013]
    Logging boost request will tell you if it's mapped or if your N75 is buggered (for example). I've got VCDS if you need a hand.
    #9
  11. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    A helping hand would be great Dave . As I'm clueless . Cheers pal .
    #10
  12. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    114
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    No probs, PM me if you want to meet up at some point and i'll bring my lappy.
    #11
  13. willh92
    Offline

    willh92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I take it you've fitted an aftermarket boost gauge? Saying that I'm positive I've seen videos of S3's showing the boost on the digital screen in the dial cluster in the dash under the radio bit??!
    #12
  14. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,924
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Only map I could think of where that 'may' happen is a Revo as they have adjustable settings... its plausible that it was set low for the sale of the car (maybe to make it more saleable to people who want an un touched example) and the battery swap has reset it somehow... that said I have not seen this behaviour before on 20v's... Revo on TFSI's have a habit of resetting to low settings once the battery is disconnected but 20v stuff has always appeared more persistent...

    Log stuff as Dave has suggested... get a better idea of whats going on...

    <tuffty/>
    #13
  15. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,924
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    ...oh and don't get anyone to read the map out until its confirmed its not a Revo as it won't work again and it will be back to pretty std settings requiring a new map to be flashed on...

    <tuffty/>
    #14
  16. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I didn't fit the boost gauge it was already in the car it's a stack gauge . I'll get Dave to do the logs once he has some spare time . If it makes any difference I brought the car from a garage called dubbers in huddersfield . Cheers for the replys . Seems I've stole this thread .
    #15
  17. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 12, 2013]
    The wife has told me it has gone into limp mode today . It had done this the other week . With the maximum boost pressure exceeded . I found a split pipe and replaced it . Had the ecu reset and all was good and it's happend again . Is it worth getting Dave still to log the car or should I try and find another/more split pipes . Don't won't to waste Dave's time and effort .
    #16
  18. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,924
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    [Dec 12, 2013]
    Find/fix any split pipes dude... no point in doing much else until you know all thats sorted

    Once you know you are leak free and are still having issues then logging will be the next step...

    Smoke test would be an idea if you can find someone in your area to do it

    <tuffty/>
    #17
  19. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 12, 2013]
    Cheers pal . One of my mates said and this was a while ago that he pumped the system up with a bike pump and listened for escaping air . It was on a s2 is this possible on the s3 . If so how can I do this all the garages are **** near me ..
    #18
  20. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,924
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    [Dec 12, 2013]
    Travel :)

    Considering the amount of air required to fill let alone pressurise the charge system you maybe there a while... prob could travel to Bills and back from Scotland in less time :p

    There must be some garage near you with a smoke tester....

    <tuffty/>
    #19
  21. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 12, 2013]
    I'll ask Dave . I don't mind travelling about if I have to . Cheers
    #20
  22. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 13, 2013]
    After some more help . I've decided to change all the hoses in one go . While I'm doing this would it be a good idea to fit a catch can and do the necessary delete . Is there a list of pipes/hoses what I need and what I need to fit the catch can . As much help as possible please . I'm also looking in the stickies .
    #21
  23. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    114
    [Dec 13, 2013]
    Sounds like a plan, probably worth postponing the logging until the new gear is fitted?

    I did the N249 bypass and catch can install purely using the stickies on here, they're very informative.
    #22
  24. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 13, 2013]
    Well I've got the alternator to do tomorrow now . It decided to stop charging the battery today . I've ordered a catch can and hose for it and the N249 delete today . So tomorrow I'll fit the alternator and next week I'll do the pcv delete and the N249 delete . Hopefully I'm going to buy a full silicone hose kit aswell . So when I'm all done I'll pm you Dave and get the logging done and can you recommend a garage for a smoke test . Cheers
    #23
  25. audiholic ste
    Offline

    audiholic ste Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 14, 2013]
    Alternator is on the car and is working and charging the battery again . It was a bit of a pig to do but it had to be done . Just waiting for the other bits and Bob's to come and to try and source a full silicone pipe kit .
    #24
  26. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    114
    [Dec 14, 2013]
    Good work! I've not had a smoke test done so can't really recommend anywhere local. There's supposed to be a decent vw place in Oldham but I'll have to dig the details out.
    #25

Share This Page