1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Standard HU with MP3 Changer

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by adcooper, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. adcooper
    Offline

    adcooper Audi A4 Avant 1.8T 190 S-Line its good to be back

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    5
    As above i was just wondering i have a 2003 S3 with no CD changer and a standard 1 slot Audi HU (BOSE dont know if this matters). I have been looking at phatnoise but i wanted to know, could i link an mp3 changer to the standard HU without any problems??

    If thats pos what would i need and what changer would fit where the OEM one does?

    Cheers for any help.

    Adam

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently got a Sony CDX-T70MX mp3 changer and a MADS003 i/f which worked fine for my NAV+ HU.
    Cost about £230. Supposed to work with all models.

    Had to get the local Audi garage to release the HU, didnt charge me though which seemed decent of them!
    #2
  3. adcooper
    Offline

    adcooper Audi A4 Avant 1.8T 190 S-Line its good to be back

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Does it work with the DIS at all?
    #3
  4. fnbloke
    Offline

    fnbloke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was a question i was wondering aswell, but that now seems top have been answered, got an A3 T Sport came with a bose system but no CD changer, i was also looking at a sony CDX T70MX but dont need to change my head unit, think i will go ahead and get it now. Neil where did u get your Cd changer from? always like to get the best price, dont like to be ripped off.
    #4
  5. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works with the steering wheel and HU controls, track and disc numbers are displayed on the top 2 lines on the DIS and HU.
    CD Text names don't work though on either!

    The company is called Car Electronics Ltd based in Leicester, I actually only paid £211.94 inc. delivery, definately the cheapest available late Nov 2004.

    http://www.cel-direct.com
    Can't provide a direct link for the page, navigate to the factory fit changers for Audi

    Fits nicely above the sub with sticky back velcro, you'll have to route a new cable from the changer to the adapter which fits behind the HU. Very easy to do as long as you can get the HU released. (Right tool for the job!)

    There is plenty of info on the MADS003 adapter availale on the web to confirm it's suitablity for your HU.
    #5
  6. adcooper
    Offline

    adcooper Audi A4 Avant 1.8T 190 S-Line its good to be back

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just one more thing how you finding it?
    #6
  7. fnbloke
    Offline

    fnbloke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    well have taken the plunge and ordered myself the sony CDX T70MX Cd changer, will let u all know how it is and how im finding it when i've installed it!!
    #7
  8. adcooper
    Offline

    adcooper Audi A4 Avant 1.8T 190 S-Line its good to be back

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you need a cable from the head unit as well or is that supplied with the sony and adapter?
    #8
  9. fnbloke
    Offline

    fnbloke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    no my car already came with a cd changer but the bloke i bought it from kept it to put in his new TT, so the cable is already installed in my car, if your car didn't originally come with a CD changer you will need one, but i aaren't the person to ask about that!!!, you do need the adapter though from the CD changer to the installed cable. will post more info when it arrives and how i got on with it!
    Ross /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #9
  10. adcooper
    Offline

    adcooper Audi A4 Avant 1.8T 190 S-Line its good to be back

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Cheers mate

    Adam
    #10
  11. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    You get the new cable with the kit from the cel-direct.com guys. Have to leave the preinstalled cable even if fitted.

    Never had any problems even with big pot holes!
    #11
  12. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    #12
  13. imported_glen_jai
    Offline

    imported_glen_jai Guest

    Hi all,
    So am I right to believe that we cannot get mp3 playback, when fitting an autochanger with mp3 capabilites, to a concert stereo?
    #13
  14. synthdood
    Offline

    synthdood Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    4
    You do get MP3 playback, just no ID tags in the display. If you use the correct interfact cable, the HU will be fooled into thinking that it is connected to a normal (audi)CD changer. It will then behave as if each CD just has a lot of songs. Navigating will be a pain though since you wil not have the option to browse though folders or anything like that. Also, I have read somewhere that on the newer HUs there is a 99 track per CD.

    Just make sure you get a changer that has an interface available for Audi HUs. I know the sony works using the MADS003 interface. Not sure whether an inteface for Alpine units exists.
    #14
  15. imported_glen_jai
    Offline

    imported_glen_jai Guest

    Hi SynthDood,
    Thanks for the response. I think you're right about the 99 track limit. I read that from a car audio dealer site too. Can you tell me if the random functionality still works and what happens if you do put the songs into separate directories? Does it just not find the mp3 files?

    Cheers.
    #15

Share This Page