1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Standard Bose system

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Todd1983, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. Todd1983
    Offline

    Todd1983 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without having to remove it, does the standard Bose system head unit have the capabilties to add a sub. I was contemplating it but want to keep the interior and oem so avoid changing head unit. Or is it a possibility to upgrade to a later model?

    Thanks in advanced
    #1
  2. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,305
    Likes Received:
    3
    What do you have saloon or estate ? The estate has a active sub built in the boot side, behind the trim panel and on the saloon there's 2 free air subs on the parcel shelves...
    #2
  3. Todd1983
    Offline

    Todd1983 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting, saloon
    #3
  4. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    as above. Saloon has 6 speakers, the four door speakers are normal full range units, and the two on the parcel shelf are subwoofers. Not particularly great subwoofers mind.

    If you wanted to add your own, you could always disconnect the parcelshelf speakers, and tap into the line level signals on the appropriate wires at the bose amp for your own amplifier.
    #4
  5. Todd1983
    Offline

    Todd1983 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's good to know that the wiring is present, thank you
    #5

Share This Page