1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

standard audi security

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by SyA3Turbo, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. SyA3Turbo
    Offline

    SyA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    I have just had a letter from my insurance company regarding the setting up of my policy on the audi.

    This states i need at least a cat 2 imobiliser fitted to my car for cover.

    Is the standard audi system thatcham rated or is there any way to find out if it is?

    Cheers in advance
    Simon
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    #2
  4. cybrey
    Offline

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    All insurance companies will take your word for it that the car has a what you say it has .... ( ie you tell em it has Cat2 alarm they won't ask for proof). The reason they do this is that they can use any omissions/lies you have made to not pay out in event of a claim /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #3
  5. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    All insurance companies will take your word for it that the car has a what you say it has .... ( ie you tell em it has Cat2 alarm they won't ask for proof). The reason they do this is that they can use any omissions/lies you have made to not pay out in event of a claim /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Not always. Twice I have been asked for a cetificate or Thatcham number in the past.
    #4
  6. MickA3
    Offline

    MickA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    i have an a3 2001 facelift- whats the story with the alarm (do i have one- heard something about closed shell?) and is there a standard fit immobiliser?.... cheers for any help- insurance quote coming up soon! might save myself a few quid!
    #5
  7. benk
    Offline

    benk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    #6
  8. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    Guys, read the link I posted above. It explains it all.
    #7
  9. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,261
    Likes Received:
    1,682
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I believe all cars from a certain year have Cat2 status. Not sure which year though! (think it was around 99??)

    [/ QUOTE ]

    98 onwards in europe IIRC
    #8
  10. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    I had the same problem this year with my insurance, and the company were refusing to expect the standard Audi alarm and immobiliser as CAT 2 approved. So I just had a CAT 1 alarm fitted to shut them up. (I wanted one anyway as I didn't have remote central locking and some other features)
    #9
  11. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 1, 2005]
    There was an option to upgrade the Cat2 to a Cat1 on ordering if I recall correctly! I'm sure I didn't dream it......
    #10
  12. imported_gek
    Online

    imported_gek Guest

    [Apr 2, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    There was an option to upgrade the Cat2 to a Cat1 on ordering if I recall correctly! I'm sure I didn't dream it......

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I don't think you did. I'm having it done next week by an independent pending a quote on Monday.
    I phoned him and he seemed to know about a Cat2 to Cat1 upgrade on the S3.
    #11
  13. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2005]
    Let us know what it involves when you get it done.

    Ta.
    #12
  14. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Apr 2, 2005]
    i had a CAT2 to CAT1 upgrage on my '01 (Y) A3, keeps the standard key fobs

    works well, no complaints /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #13
  15. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Apr 2, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    where did you get that done Dean_T?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    it was a mobile fitter in birmingham, they fitted a sigma 2-1 upgrade

    i can dig out the price if you need it?

    i remember it being more pricey than i thought it would be though....
    #14
  16. imported_gek
    Online

    imported_gek Guest

    [Apr 5, 2005]
    I've been quoted £330. Seems very high.
    #15

Share This Page