1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Standard A3 turbo security/alarm

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Dean_T, May 13, 2004.

  1. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    124
    [May 13, 2004]
    Basically, are they any good?

    Thatcham approved? If so, CAT1, CAT2?

    These days with so many insurers asking for CAT1 alarms, just working out whether I need to budget for a new alarm when I find a nice A3 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. leespears1
    Offline

    leespears1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 13, 2004]
    Im insured with A Flux. They required my car (quattro) to be alarmed by CAT 2. I told them it has audi alarm/immob etc and a thatcham steering lock. They said this was fine for no extra costs.They must b good.
    #2
  4. cybrey
    Offline

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 14, 2004]
    I didn't think theres any such thing as a CAT2 alarm.

    When its CAT2 its just got an imboliser.. when its CAT1 its got imboliser and alarm..

    http://www.caralarms-security.co.uk/thatcham.htm

    At least thats what I was led to believe.. but I'm probably wrong ( as usual :p)
    #3
  5. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 14, 2004]
    cybrey you are correct.
    #4
  6. leespears1
    Offline

    leespears1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 14, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    cybrey said:
    I didn't think theres any such thing as a CAT2 alarm.

    When its CAT2 its just got an imboliser.. when its CAT1 its got imboliser and alarm..

    http://www.caralarms-security.co.uk/thatcham.htm

    At least thats what I was led to believe.. but I'm probably wrong ( as usual :p)

    [/ QUOTE ]


    well ok that then.
    #5
  7. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,724
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    [May 14, 2004]
    From my local alarm installer, they said that all cars manufactured 1998 onwards are required to have CAT2 (immobiliser) as standard.
    #6
  8. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    124
    [May 23, 2004]
    I put this question to the dealer the weekend, they said that A3 Turbos made 1999-> have a CAT1 system fitted

    any views on this please?

    Adrian Flux say I need a CAT1....
    #7
  9. Bazza
    Offline

    Bazza Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 24, 2004]
    Most Audi models have a cat1 alarm fitted all be it sounds like a reversing beeper!!
    #8
  10. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 24, 2004]
    I know the S3 only has a Cat 2 Which I think is stupid!
    #9
  11. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,724
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    [May 24, 2004]
    As far as I'm aware, all S3's have CAT 1 as standard, unless it was an optional extra?
    #10
  12. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 24, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    jojo said:
    As far as I'm aware, all S3's have CAT 1 as standard, unless it was an optional extra?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Nope! They are Cat2 as standard! I think Cat 1 was an option IIRC
    #11

Share This Page