1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Squealing Brakes On New S3, Common Problem?? & Audi/Mods Query

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Phil_T, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. Phil_T
    Offline

    Phil_T Revo Stage 2+ Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    As above before I bought mine both of my mates squeal really bad (A 58 & 56 Reg) but now mine have started doing it worse than theirs & more often, I feel like a right nob with a 28k car that sounds like a taxi that hasnt had an MOT/Service coming to a stop even more when other cheap motors seem fine when driving around.

    Any ideas? its going into Audi for them to have a look at but am abit worried about the evoms intake, forge dv & maybe the revo if they find it even tho I will switch it off before I go. Also if they get rid of my remap am I right in that I cant just put it back on with the select plus switch as it doesnt actually hold the map??
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
    #1
  2. A3simon
    Offline

    A3simon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    if its just the brakes they are checking then tell them you dont want it put on the vagcom. They wont say anything about the mods as they dont effect the brakes
    #2
  3. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this issue on my last S3, I took my car into Listers Solihull with all the hardware and software on but never mentioned it. They sent a tech out with me, I drove and he listened. Front pads were replaced under warranty at 9,000 miles, they did say that getting the pads replaced is very mileage dependant so try and get the car in asap, Audi have apparently replaced a fair few for a type with a different compound. It cured mine.
    #3
  4. Phil_T
    Offline

    Phil_T Revo Stage 2+ Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont want to say dont use vagcom as they might wonder why. Also what would happen if they wiped my revo. Would revo remap it again foc? what would happend if Audi wiped it over more than one visits?

    Thanks I thought I had read something similar I will mention this to them
    #4
  5. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your car is flashed, which I strongly doubt as they always too busy, Revo will reset it for you FOC, an independant Revo dealer may charge you a little for his time but if he does get yourself another outlet as should be a goodwill gesture.

    When I called to service to mention my squeaky brakes I just adopted the same tone as you at the beginning of the thread, basically you dont expect this from a prestige car, if your mileage is low it's an easy warranty claim for them so should be no problem.
    #5
  6. AuldReekie
    Offline

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mate you are putting too much faith in Audi's diagnostic VAS (?) machine. I have had mine on a number of occasions and no probs; I suspect they read the fault codes and follow the prompts. RE: brakes. I cannot imagine they will hook it up to change the pads out and yes the squeaky brakes seem to be quite common. I reported mine as far as Audi UK and got no joy, but like many things with regional variations some have got them changed under warranty. As spin has correctly pointed out the map isn't stored in the Select switch, this is.just an interface to adjust the software's settings. My Revo guy will reflash for free (not that I have needed it) and for the time that it takes I would be surprised if any decent tuner would actually charge a fee to put it back on - although I do appreciate the time/money argument.
    #6
  7. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Boycie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    7
    Mine squeak from time to time and it is more or less the brake dust cover that moves slightly - Just poke you hand in behind the wheel and push the cover back a bit. Usually solves the problem.
    #7
  8. Phil_T
    Offline

    Phil_T Revo Stage 2+ Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it done from Prosport in Manchester I wasnt worried about them finding it it was more them flashing the car & getting rid of it. What do you think they will be like towards the evoms intake & the forge dv?.

    Yep same as you I dont want constent squealing breaks that you can hear from quite a distance till I stop

    As above mate what I wrote to spin

    This isnt a squeak its a loud squeal which doesnt seem to go away, Will see what Audi say when it goes in but wanted to see other peoples thoughts as it seems quite common
    #8
  9. AuldReekie
    Offline

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phil just thought mate Jamiekip just had his swapped out under warranty, so a PM might be worth a punt to bring his attention. I got in touch with Audi UK after I read about a Tech Bulletin on the issue, but the chap couldn't find owt and the dealer was the same. So I guess it's down to a sympathetic dealer wanting to pick up some warranty work.
    #9
  10. AuldReekie
    Offline

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phil just thought mate Jamiekip just had his swapped out under warranty, so a PM might be worth a punt to bring his attention. I got in touch with Audi UK after I read about a Tech Bulletin on the issue, but the chap couldn't find owt and the dealer was the same. So I guess it's down to a sympathetic dealer wanting to pick up some warranty work. EDIT: just noticed the second bit. I take mine in as is and they don't say owt, well the Service Manager did mention that it had been dropped - but that was him winding me up that one was broken. :) ...and it's not like you would miss the dirty great Evoms. BUT, my caveat would be none of the things I have been in for (servicing, etc) have been for large faults for which they would look to attribute the mod as being contributary to the issue at hand. I do understand that the burdon is upon them to prove the mod contributed or caused the fault, not the other way around. I have reasoned to take my chances for routine stuff, but I would think twice if I was going in with a fault. I wouldn't criticise anyone for de-modding but it is a PITA.
    #10

Share This Page