1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sportback Rear LED's

stealth64 Nov 5, 2009

  1. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16
    Hi all,

    I am new to the boards so please be patient.

    I have notice a few members have retro fitted OEM rear LED's to there a3 sprtbacks and was hoping to find a link to the best place to buy and how to fit the parts, is this something someone can help me with?


    Thansk.
     
  2. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48
  3. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16
  4. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    586
    0
    16
  5. mattandrew

    mattandrew Member VCDS Map User

    977
    20
    18
    your best getting the lights direct from audi and the looms from kufatec
     
  6. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16
  7. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    586
    0
    16
    How much where they from Audi parts ?
     
  8. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears Bronze Supporter Audi A3

    898
    69
    28

    Yes, thats the one. There actually 4 looms, 2 for the exterior lights and 2 for the lights on the boot lid. Don't worry about the fitting instructions, it's almost plug&play. For the outer lights you just have to plug the looms.
    For the ones on the lid you'll have to remove the trim on the interior to gain access to the wires leading to the number plate lights. The loom from kufatec has an exta wire which hangs out of the rest. This wire will have to be connected to the wire from the numberplate lights. This is needed to power the LED.
    I'll try to find the instructions I found when I changed them on my car.


    L.E. Found it:
    ktc_b0caeefa88c91a4973b14373d4a15c2c.pdf - 591.3 Kb


    L.L.E. You also have to do some coding in order for the light to work properly. Here is what you have to do:

    Code:
    central electronics
    
    coding
    
    help with long coding
    
    Btye 9 to Dec = 0 - as the final brake light
    Byte 10 to Dec = 0 - Fog lamps as a taillight
    Byte 12 to Dec = 36 - dimming rear standlight
    Byte 19 Bit 2 Cold Diagnosis rear active - this must be activated
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  9. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16
    No idea how to do this coding bit!

    is this still worth me attempting to do this with little to no experience?
     
  10. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears Bronze Supporter Audi A3

    898
    69
    28
    For the coding you need a VAGCOM interface. If you are the type with two left hands, than don't do it yourself. As I said before, you need to strip a wire's isolation in order to connect other two wires. If you don't do it right, you may end up breaking something.
     
  11. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16
    Cheers for all the help so far guys. But i am worried about starting the task then finding im out of my depth!

    are there any companies in or around the midlands/shropshire that would be familiar with fitting these?

    also anyone got any ideas on cost of the light clusters? im still waiting for audi parts to get back to me!
     
  12. fizz

    fizz Member

    264
    2
    18
    I have been quoted £186 in vat from Stoke audi on the forum which is a great price.
     
  13. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16

    yeah that sounds good!

    shrewsbury audi said that the existing lights would cost £300 to replace so the LED's would cost alot more, but they never come back with a price!

    just need to find someone to fit em now!
     
  14. mattandrew

    mattandrew Member VCDS Map User

    977
    20
    18
    Ive fitted a few sets in the past PM me if interested, im Nr Buxton in Derbyshire
     
  15. jamessg1962

    jamessg1962 Member

    123
    1
    18
  16. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears Bronze Supporter Audi A3

    898
    69
    28
    That's wrong! For SB makes no difference if its RHD or LHD. If it was the 3 door than yes, they are different. For the SB both clusters have the same set of lights. The 3 door version has a fog light on the left and reverse light on the right side (LHD) and viceversa for RHD. This is because on the boot lid there is no light (except for the number plate) like there is at SB.
     
  17. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16
    After talking with someone at in the trade, they said i may not need to do the recoding bit as my a3 is a 2006?

    can anyone confirm?
     
  18. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears Bronze Supporter Audi A3

    898
    69
    28
    Nope! You still need to do the coding or your lights will look like this:
    [​IMG]

    You have to "tell" the computer that position lights are no longer the bulbs but the LEDs and the bulbs should be used only when breaking.
     
  19. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    586
    0
    16
    Matt is ya man. Don't waist your money and time with audi. Jump in your car have a run to matts.
     
  20. kool_bouy

    kool_bouy New Member

    29
    0
    1
    HI i am new hear was about to post same question. Got most info from here cheers all. Just one thing in my mind is how to do the programming. What tool/software do i need. And where can i get. Or is there anyone in Leicester who can do it. Cheers.
     
  21. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16

    I have ordered this from kufatec
    http://www.kufatec.de/shop/product_....html/XTCsid/039b846be587db86a0855050001ae985

    plug it in and it should upload the correct code for you.
     
  22. fizz

    fizz Member

    264
    2
    18
    ordered my lights from stoke audi today for £186 inc vat plus around £6 postage :)
     
  23. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears Bronze Supporter Audi A3

    898
    69
    28
    Total waste of money IMO. You really couldn't find someone with a vag-com to do the job? It takes no more than 2 minutes to do it.
     
  24. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48
    Clever stuff that!

    There's a 'members with VCDS' thread in the VCDS forum for anyone who wants the coding done for this mod. I am doing someone's this weekend. Saves you 30 euro!

    :shrug: that was the right thread mate!
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
  25. kool_bouy

    kool_bouy New Member

    29
    0
    1
    Ok so Garages with the service reset thing should be able to do that also ya?
    Staz would u come to leicester or would i have to come to u? If so where abouts r u and how much would u charge?
     
  26. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48
  27. kool_bouy

    kool_bouy New Member

    29
    0
    1
    Cheers mate now i will just order the adaptor for the lights from KUFATECH and the lights from either stoke or leicester audi. Then will keep update on this post. Cheers for all the help. Will keep u updated shortly. While we at it does anyone have an aftermarket exhaust on a 3.2? If yes which is the best to go for.
     
  28. fizz

    fizz Member

    264
    2
    18
    Check item 400085393006 on ebay, cheaper than kufatec, got mine from there and was shipped within minutes of paying. Postage was 6.50 eur
     
  29. fizz

    fizz Member

    264
    2
    18
    Id also appreciate it if some1 could find matt's original thread where he did the mod, as can't for the life of me locate it. Link above comes up as invalid. Not sure if its been deleted.
     
  30. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48
    Which link? The one I posted?
     
  31. fizz

    fizz Member

    264
    2
    18
  32. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    2,374
    106
    63
    did someone mention me ?
    yes id be willing to code it up for you.
     
  33. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    2,374
    106
    63
    staz,
    the link is invalid, it states to contact a mod, i now have. lol
     
  34. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48

    :uhm: works fine for me!

    Can you see this post?

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showpost.php?p=656355&postcount=278

    This is what it says:

     
  35. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    2,374
    106
    63
    no mate, this is what comes up.

    Invalid Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator
     
  36. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48
    Okay cheers. I guess the thread has been deleted by the original poster. I have always used the link from the stickies thread. I'll sort it tomorrow.

    Is there another thread about the sportback lights though?
     
  37. fizz

    fizz Member

    264
    2
    18
    I looked but couldnt find one with the drtails that that thread had mate.
     
  38. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48
    Ok well as I said I'm doing a set of Sportback lights on Saturday so I may well create a now 'How To' thread while we do it.

    Unless someone can find a decent one that's on here already :search:
     
  39. stealth64

    stealth64 Member

    201
    0
    16

    I am also attempting to fit mine over the weekend!

    Hoping its gonna be a simple process, may pm you if i get stuck!?:sos:
     
  40. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    6,206
    64
    48
    It could be the other way around too! lol
     

Share This Page