1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sportback 09 rear lights

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by b19ctr, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. b19ctr
    Offline

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got a set of 09 rear lights for my Sportback and just wondered if anyone knew that parts were needed to wire them up on my 07.

    I don't want to go down the adaptor route as it makes the inner lights dim. I think this is due to the feed coming from the reg plate light.

    Any advice greatly appreciated :)

    Chris
    #1
  2. Lings
    Offline

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will doing this to my sportback also ,and await the information ;-)
    #2
  3. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the Kufatec loom on my 09 lights and they are all the same brightness. We have a MY10 Sportback with them fitted from factory and mine are as bright and look the same. No difference....
    #3
  4. martinivw
    Offline

    martinivw :)

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    My last 2 cars had kufatec harness's for the led tails with 0 problems as well
    #4
  5. b19ctr
    Offline

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    1
    ah ok guys thanks for that i was told that the inner lights would be dim but if that's not the case I'll go that route :)
    #5
  6. b19ctr
    Offline

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. cata_adc
    Offline

    cata_adc Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes that is the harness that you will need to make them work.
    Mine are working for almost 2 years without problems
    #7
  8. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    5
    Good to know! Nice one Chris
    #8
  9. cata_adc
    Offline

    cata_adc Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also you can find on e-bay the harness
    [​IMG]
    #9
  10. Lings
    Offline

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks i will be going this route myself soon ...
    #10
  11. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Out of interest, where did you get your rear lights?
    #11
  12. cata_adc
    Offline

    cata_adc Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    from my local Audi dealer
    #12
  13. b19ctr
    Offline

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got mine off ebay there coming up more and more often now as the cars are over a year old and a few in the scrappers look for the lights but also look for A3's being broken and email the seller.
    #13
  14. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just as a matter of interest mate I've had a look at that link and at the bottom it says 'not suitable for right hand drive'

    Does it mean exactly that or does it mean not suitable for driving on the right ?

    Presumably, if it's right hand drive then the rear fog is on the wrong side ? Can the looms not just be reversed ?
    #14
  15. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    It doesn't make any difference on the sportback as it has two reversing lights and two fog lights. The 3 door facelift lights are left or right hand drive dependant...
    #15
  16. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    12
    Cheers mate - me being thick again !!!
    #16
  17. BlackSportback
    Offline

    BlackSportback Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    A couple of questions:

    1). Are the loom plugs the same for the old and new style lights?
    2). If the loom is used or a manual rewire done I really cant understand why coding needs to be performed as surely you wire up what needs to light up with what 12v feed from the car??
    #17
  18. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just looking at the link again and taking your comment into consideration - why then do they say 'not suitable for right hand drive' when the advert is specifically for the sportback ?
    #18
  19. BlackSportback
    Offline

    BlackSportback Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Prob just copied and paste the text.
    #19
  20. sachen
    Offline

    sachen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do the new lights need to be coded through VCDS in order to work or are they just plug and play with the wiring harness?
    #20
  21. Ash B
    Offline

    Ash B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,825
    Likes Received:
    1
    They need to be coded to work
    #21
  22. Ash B
    Offline

    Ash B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,825
    Likes Received:
    1

    Love that photo sportback rearlights are a win.

    1. No dont think they are the same thats why you need the new loom.
    2. You need to code the lights so the above section (in the picture above) actually lights up as the car wouldnt be programmed to do them.
    As on the old lights you dont get the led.
    #22
  23. BlackSportback
    Offline

    BlackSportback Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I don't get, is the harness just to go from one type of adapter to another then?
    #23
  24. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes but it also rewires the lights wiring so the new lights work. Remember, your current lights don't have the LED part that lights up as the side lights, as it's done by the bulbs on the original lights.

    Plus, you have to change the coding so the car knows what to light up and when. The bulbs in the lights are single filement bulbs. It's the car that determines the brightness when you turn the lights on or the brake lights are required using one bulb. This is why the coding is required otherwise the bulbs will still show as your tail lights and not the LED rings as the car won't know they are there. Also on the new lights the brake lights are both bulbs not just one as in the original lights. Again changed through the coding...
    #24
  25. BlackSportback
    Offline

    BlackSportback Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah that makes sense now, dint know that the bulbs were single filament, thought they would have been the old 5/21W jobbies.

    So based on that fact, does it make it that much harder for a manual rewire or is it just easier to get the looms? Just begrudge spending that amount on a couple of wires and connectors....
    #25
  26. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,218
    Likes Received:
    29
    Or just pissed :p
    #26
  27. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hang about buddy - that question was yesterday and I hadn't had a drink !! :yes:

    I have now, but even so I would be interested in your answer to my post #14 ?? edit : and post #18

    If that is a mistake then you have to question the credibility of any advert that you reply to - don't you ?? :confused:
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2011
    #27
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,218
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yeap time to crack open a tinny myself.

    TBH its Kufatec, I dont use them for a reason.

    The pins are different on left & right side, but, can just swap pins about anyway, I personally rewire from scratch myself.
    #28
  29. BlackSportback
    Offline

    BlackSportback Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    #29
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,218
    Likes Received:
    29
    I cant see how they're doing genuine lights at that price tbh, given the 3dr ones they sell are extremely costly, so these cant be originals, I reckon they've either made a mistake or they're non genuine.
    #30
  31. BlackSportback
    Offline

    BlackSportback Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basically its going to cost £233 for the lights from Stoke Audi then an additional 49Euro for the Kufatec loom?
    #31
  32. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,218
    Likes Received:
    29
    £233 is cheap.
    #32
  33. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah that's what I paid. The loom was £56 delivered when I ordered it...
    #33
  34. BlackSportback
    Offline

    BlackSportback Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cant find the coding for the rear lights.....Anyone got a link to the thread?

    Thanks
    #34
  35. Rhyso
    Offline

    Rhyso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    2
    #35
  36. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive used the kufatec loom a couple of times on the sb with no issues, once all the coding is done they look oem
    #36
  37. ckman85
    Offline

    ckman85 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does n e 1 know where u can get the coding? Im from the South East, based in Essex. How much wud it cost to Code?

    Thanks

    Will
    #37
  38. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,218
    Likes Received:
    29
    Send me a PM mate I can get your coding done for you.
    #38
  39. c_w
    Offline

    c_w Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've used them and they come in 4 sealed "Magneti Marelli" boxes, Made in Poland and with the Kufatec plug and play looms (just needs the inner power feed adding) - they look genuine to me! Delivery is very fast too.
    #39
  40. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,218
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have just negotiated a better price for the SB rears now, just need to work out price with connectors/repair wires, the wires arent cheap thats the killer.
    #40

Share This Page