1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sportback 09 rear lights

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by b19ctr, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. b19ctr

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    41
    I've got a set of 09 rear lights for my Sportback and just wondered if anyone knew that parts were needed to wire them up on my 07.

    I don't want to go down the adaptor route as it makes the inner lights dim. I think this is due to the feed coming from the reg plate light.

    Any advice greatly appreciated :)

    Chris
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Lings

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    30
    I will doing this to my sportback also ,and await the information ;-)
     
  4. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    I have the Kufatec loom on my 09 lights and they are all the same brightness. We have a MY10 Sportback with them fitted from factory and mine are as bright and look the same. No difference....
     
  5. martinivw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    19
    My last 2 cars had kufatec harness's for the led tails with 0 problems as well
     
  6. b19ctr

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    41
    ah ok guys thanks for that i was told that the inner lights would be dim but if that's not the case I'll go that route :)
     
  7. b19ctr

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    41
  8. cata_adc

    cata_adc Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes that is the harness that you will need to make them work.
    Mine are working for almost 2 years without problems
     
  9. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,167
    Likes Received:
    696
    Good to know! Nice one Chris
     
  10. cata_adc

    cata_adc Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also you can find on e-bay the harness
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Lings

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thanks i will be going this route myself soon ...
     
  12. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    Out of interest, where did you get your rear lights?
     
  13. cata_adc

    cata_adc Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    from my local Audi dealer
     
  14. b19ctr

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    41
    Got mine off ebay there coming up more and more often now as the cars are over a year old and a few in the scrappers look for the lights but also look for A3's being broken and email the seller.
     
  15. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Just as a matter of interest mate I've had a look at that link and at the bottom it says 'not suitable for right hand drive'

    Does it mean exactly that or does it mean not suitable for driving on the right ?

    Presumably, if it's right hand drive then the rear fog is on the wrong side ? Can the looms not just be reversed ?
     
  16. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    It doesn't make any difference on the sportback as it has two reversing lights and two fog lights. The 3 door facelift lights are left or right hand drive dependant...
     
  17. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Cheers mate - me being thick again !!!
     
  18. BlackSportback

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    A couple of questions:

    1). Are the loom plugs the same for the old and new style lights?
    2). If the loom is used or a manual rewire done I really cant understand why coding needs to be performed as surely you wire up what needs to light up with what 12v feed from the car??
     
  19. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Just looking at the link again and taking your comment into consideration - why then do they say 'not suitable for right hand drive' when the advert is specifically for the sportback ?
     
  20. BlackSportback

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Prob just copied and paste the text.
     
  21. sachen

    sachen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do the new lights need to be coded through VCDS in order to work or are they just plug and play with the wiring harness?
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,832
    Likes Received:
    78
    They need to be coded to work
     
  24. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,832
    Likes Received:
    78

    Love that photo sportback rearlights are a win.

    1. No dont think they are the same thats why you need the new loom.
    2. You need to code the lights so the above section (in the picture above) actually lights up as the car wouldnt be programmed to do them.
    As on the old lights you dont get the led.
     
  25. BlackSportback

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I don't get, is the harness just to go from one type of adapter to another then?
     
  26. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yes but it also rewires the lights wiring so the new lights work. Remember, your current lights don't have the LED part that lights up as the side lights, as it's done by the bulbs on the original lights.

    Plus, you have to change the coding so the car knows what to light up and when. The bulbs in the lights are single filement bulbs. It's the car that determines the brightness when you turn the lights on or the brake lights are required using one bulb. This is why the coding is required otherwise the bulbs will still show as your tail lights and not the LED rings as the car won't know they are there. Also on the new lights the brake lights are both bulbs not just one as in the original lights. Again changed through the coding...
     
  27. BlackSportback

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah that makes sense now, dint know that the bulbs were single filament, thought they would have been the old 5/21W jobbies.

    So based on that fact, does it make it that much harder for a manual rewire or is it just easier to get the looms? Just begrudge spending that amount on a couple of wires and connectors....
     
  28. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Or just pissed :p
     
  29. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Hang about buddy - that question was yesterday and I hadn't had a drink !! :yes:

    I have now, but even so I would be interested in your answer to my post #14 ?? edit : and post #18

    If that is a mistake then you have to question the credibility of any advert that you reply to - don't you ?? :confused:
     
    #27 mike foster, Mar 9, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2011
  30. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Yeap time to crack open a tinny myself.

    TBH its Kufatec, I dont use them for a reason.

    The pins are different on left & right side, but, can just swap pins about anyway, I personally rewire from scratch myself.
     
  31. BlackSportback

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
  32. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    I cant see how they're doing genuine lights at that price tbh, given the 3dr ones they sell are extremely costly, so these cant be originals, I reckon they've either made a mistake or they're non genuine.
     
  33. BlackSportback

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basically its going to cost £233 for the lights from Stoke Audi then an additional 49Euro for the Kufatec loom?
     
  34. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    £233 is cheap.
     
  35. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yeah that's what I paid. The loom was £56 delivered when I ordered it...
     
  36. BlackSportback

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cant find the coding for the rear lights.....Anyone got a link to the thread?

    Thanks
     
  37. Rhyso

    Rhyso Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    43
  38. mattandrew

    mattandrew Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    11
    ive used the kufatec loom a couple of times on the sb with no issues, once all the coding is done they look oem
     
  39. ckman85

    ckman85 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does n e 1 know where u can get the coding? Im from the South East, based in Essex. How much wud it cost to Code?

    Thanks

    Will
     
  40. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Send me a PM mate I can get your coding done for you.
     
  41. c_w

    c_w Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    64
    I've used them and they come in 4 sealed "Magneti Marelli" boxes, Made in Poland and with the Kufatec plug and play looms (just needs the inner power feed adding) - they look genuine to me! Delivery is very fast too.
     
  42. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    I have just negotiated a better price for the SB rears now, just need to work out price with connectors/repair wires, the wires arent cheap thats the killer.
     

Share This Page