1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Split pipe Help

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Jay, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. Jay
    Offline

    Jay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Hi guys,

    Ran vagcom which came up with 17705 - Pressure Drop between Turbo and Throttle Valve (check D.V.!)

    I think i've found the problem (see pics). The split is about an inch in length I've taped it up for the mean time and ran vag com again. The error hasn't come back but obviously car's running a bit funny.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    How big a job is it to get this fixed? and anyone know how or why this could have happened.

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    That's definately not wear & tear, somebody has definately dropped something on it
    #2
  4. jesters3
    Offline

    jesters3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    Got the same issue on my S3 - 17705 and a split pipe. Found the split hideen between two pipes, looks to have just worn away; yours on the other hand does look 'forced' rather than worn. Even so, find the part number get a price and get it changed, looking at it you only have to undo a couple of clips; same as mine. So should only be a 5 min job once you have the part.
    #3
  5. Jay
    Offline

    Jay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    That did cross my mind... the only thing i've had done recently which would have involved removing the cover is a spark plug change even then i was stood next to the mechanic whilst he was changing them.

    What is this pipe? does it have anything to do with the turbo?

    Jester - was it the same pipe that had split on yours?
    #4
  6. steveborner
    Offline

    steveborner New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    it looks like an oil carrier line?? best bet is to take it to audi, and get a part number and make sure you get new jubilees aswell.
    #5
  7. Emmo
    Offline

    Emmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    I found the same split pipe on mine on the weekend,it had turned into a stretchy rubbery mush and had splits all over. its a crankcase breather hose, I got a replacement from the vw stealers cost £29!! part number is 06a103221bh.

    when replacing it i found the pipe that it joins onto was split too..bugger that cost me another £32..

    I also had the 17705 error and found the small vacuum pipe on the diverter valve was barely on, re-secured it, and boosts much stronger again.
    #6
  8. Jay
    Offline

    Jay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2008]

    Didn't really need to hear that but at least i've got a good idea about costs involved.
    Was it pretty easy to fit?
    Thanks
    #7
  9. Emmo
    Offline

    Emmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 20, 2008]
    It was dead easy to fit, you will need new jubilee clips, because the clips audi use are not reusable.

    only took 10 mins ish. Its held on by 3 clips pretty self explanatory.
    #8
  10. jesters3
    Offline

    jesters3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 21, 2008]
    Like Emmo says check other pipes as well. Looks to be a different engine to mine so different split. Mine is the Oil Carrier line 06A 103 221 AC
    #9

Share This Page