1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

speedo problem

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by brownie 25, Jul 4, 2013.

  1. brownie 25

    brownie 25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    9
    hi all,i had to take clocks out of the dash and the speedometer arm fell off so i took the cluster apart and put it back on,when i drove it wasn't reading right and then stooped working can i replace just the motor that controls it or do i need to replace the whole unit.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,138
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    I reckon you've just pushed the motor of its cogs, take apart, look at rear motor & fit cogs back on if so, happens when you refit the needles.
     
  4. brownie 25

    brownie 25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    9
    I will try that tks,dose the nedle just push back on then or is there some sort of clip it didn't seem to lock in or any thing when I put it on
     
  5. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,138
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Its pushed back on, but when you push it can dislodge the rear motor cogs, so make sure cogs are all in place, refit housing & when putting needle back on make sure it doesn't dislodge whilst applying pressure.
     
  6. brownie 25

    brownie 25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    9
    hi nhn i took the back off the motor but in doing so bent the metal pieces inside and now no matter what way i fit it back it wont work,so back to my first question lol can i replace the motor its self.
    tks
     
  7. brownie 25

    brownie 25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    9
    #6 brownie 25, Jul 22, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2013
  8. brownie 25

    brownie 25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    9
  9. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    175
    Personally I'd replace the clocks, much easier by the look of those components!
     
  10. brownie 25

    brownie 25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    9
    would that not just be a waste of money?i dont know the price of a set of clocks and i dont think i want to lol,i could change this part easy enough but just not sure if it the right one for my clocks
     

Share This Page