1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedo not right

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by ash_pearce, May 5, 2009.

  1. ash_pearce
    Offline

    ash_pearce Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2009]
    A3 1.8t sport 5 speed 1997.


    My speedo is reading about 5 to 10 mph out. Looks like someone has had the clocks to bit before as the abs led is missing. Realating back to an old mot failure it seems someone has removed the abs light just to pass the mot.

    Moving on...

    Could someone please tell me what rpm they are doing to a certain speed?

    Or 5th gear at 1000rpm what speed are you doing?

    Or where does your needle sit when the ignition is off,

    i think i've made this sound complicated as always.. lol

    thanks in advance
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 27, 2014]

  3. reptor245
    Offline

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 5, 2009]
    its easy to find out if the clocks have been tampered with. Take out the speedo from the dash and look on the back of the clocks. There should be a paper white seal were the back white plastic meets the front black bit. If its brocken then i would say they have been tampered with. The red needles should sit on the zero when the ignition if off.
    #2
  4. ash_pearce
    Offline

    ash_pearce Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2009]
    I've had them apart thats how i know the led is missing. Clearly someone has messed with them in the past. Vagcom is showing front right abs sensor, anoying that someone has messed the speedo up for a £15 part.

    Mine reads 70mph in 5th gear at 3000 rpm any ideas if that is right?
    #3
  5. ash_pearce
    Offline

    ash_pearce Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2009]
    there must be someone who can tell me what speed they are doing in 5th gear at 3000rpm please! or any other combination of speed/rpm
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [May 6, 2009]
    Actually thats not true, they should sit at zero when the ignition is turned but car not started, they sit below the zero lines when the keys are out
    #5
  7. ash_pearce
    Offline

    ash_pearce Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2009]
    thanks mate i'll have a look later.
    #6
  8. reptor245
    Offline

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 6, 2009]
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [May 6, 2009]
    I've dealt with several clusters & none of them have sat at zero when keys are out, bottom line is as above they should sit exactly at zero when the ignition is turned, so work of that

    No disrespect but you're quoting from pictures of ebay & given how small of a percentage they could be out & they are known to be between 5-10mph out anyway from factory, if you look close at these the needles on the speedo side are actually below the zero line & I hazard a guess when the clusters you show are installed in a car they sit above the zero line, also the S3 one fuel gauge is below the line, be factual not fictional & quote from a working cluster not of ebay links then I'll accept what you're saying as a fair comment.
    #8
  10. reptor245
    Offline

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 6, 2009]

    heres a pic of mine with keys out.

    [​IMG]
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [May 6, 2009]
    Even your rev counter isnt level & speedo slightly of the mark, what about when ignition turned?

    Edit: you removed your post while I posted so amended mine.
    #10
  12. reptor245
    Offline

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 6, 2009]
    Huh?

    its about 1mm below, just like the S3 one.

    mine
    [​IMG]


    ebay`s
    [​IMG]


    both mine with ignition on and ebays with ignition clearly off are the same. rev counter on the dot and speedo 1mm below.
    #11
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [May 6, 2009]
    Well yours is different to my previous cars clusters then & the new 09 facelift white cluster I now have, but speedo should be spot on & no doesnt mean they're broken just not spot on correct, then again most speedo's are not 100% correct anyway, but if when ignition is turned on & they are all on the actual zero line not below or above then your closer than most, but to help the guy asking just make sure they're on the line then see if you still think they're out, even the smallest amount makes differences given the dial measurements of speed, clusters seem to be non uniform tbh when you'd expect them to all show same characturistics interms of where the needles sit etc, but alas.
    #12
  14. ash_pearce
    Offline

    ash_pearce Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2009]
    I'll check later, thanks for your help.
    #13
  15. Ellisium
    Offline

    Ellisium New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2009]
    Checked this earlier and speedo read 73mph (private road of course haha)

    My cars got 18" TT's on which would make a difference but thought I would post this as a start :sm4:
    #14
  16. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,730
    Likes Received:
    315
    [May 7, 2009]
    Have you got access to a satnav? Could get speed from GPS then
    #15
  17. ash_pearce
    Offline

    ash_pearce Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2009]
    thanks mate looks like i'm not far off then.
    #16
  18. ash_pearce
    Offline

    ash_pearce Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2009]
    no mate hate the damn things! cant beat a good old map.
    #17

Share This Page