1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

speedo needle doesnt rest at zero

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by phulla, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. phulla
    Offline

    phulla New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 2, 2011]
    this might be normal or it could just be me being too demanding, let me know!

    RE: 2007 B7 A4 2.0TFSI quattro SE

    When i start the car, all the needles move into place, revs, petrol, temp etc, but the speedo needle i do not expect to move from its resting place, but since it sits just beyond the zero mark, does move exactly onto zero.

    After i drive off and come to rest, at traffic lights for example, not moving, i expect the speedo needle to come to rest at or beyond the zero mark, but it doesn't, it sits just before the zero, as if to indicate 0.5mph. If i turn off the engine, the speedo needle does then move beyond the zero mark.

    Is this normal, does this happen to anyone else?

    I reported this to Audi and since car is under warranty, they have replaced something in the dashboard. I collected the car and its exactly the same!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. benr
    Offline

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    Same as mine, never bothered me.
    #2
  4. phulla
    Offline

    phulla New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    Oh ok, cheers. Thanks for the reply. :)
    #3
  5. benr
    Offline

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    Would be interested to see others opinions though.

    btw im a 2.0 tdi 170
    #4
  6. Triple.O.G
    Offline

    Triple.O.G Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    If your dials have ever been separated the needles get removed, if the needle has been put back - click out of place it will sit a couple of mm higher or lower than it's supposed to?

    If it's just a tfsi thing then no bother but if they don't all do it I would want to know why they have separated my dials? Could just be to replace an LED or could be something much more sinister. Don't worry about it though mate. Prob just one of those things!
    #5
  7. Triple.O.G
    Offline

    Triple.O.G Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    Checked mine on the way home, it does exactly the same only i never noticed. you must be really picky mate ha ha.
    #6
  8. phulla
    Offline

    phulla New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    Ha ha ha. Just attention to detail. Can't help it, always been that way.

    :)
    #7

Share This Page