1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedo dials are not working........

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JamesS4cab, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    91
    The speedo on my wife's 2007 a3 has stopped working. The lights all come on but the needles don't move at all.

    I have searched on here and worked out how to get it out but can't really find anything that is serviceable!!

    Can anyone give me some ideas as to what I should be looking for?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. OCD-A3

    OCD-A3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can you scan it with Vag-com?
     
  4. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    91
    Nope. Don't have it. Took it to pieces, got cross at it, cursed and swore at it and gave up.

    Put it back in to keep it safe and now it works perfectly.

    Reeeeeeeeesult. :superman:
     
  5. AndyParker

    AndyParker Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    45
    Ha - obviously needed a mans touch :whistle2:
     
  6. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    91
    Ok so now the dials have stopped working again and it's lit up like a bloody Christmas tree! Fuel light, temperature light, ABS, airbags...... Whole 9 yards.

    I have done what I did last time and taken it out and called it all the names under the sun but it's being less amenable.

    Anyone got any good ideas!???

    Plus how long do I need to leave the battery disconnected to reset VAGCOM??
     
  7. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    91
    Now re-installed into the car and the speedo is now working. But still got almost all lights lit up so guess that needs a VAGCOM clear??

    And the display screen shows the mileage and the word "dEF".

    HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP!!
     
  8. Soot1

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    69
    It's a "could be anything" type fault but check if there is any water getting into the dash area.
     
  9. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    91
    I have had the binnacle out for a few hours yesterday and its "working" as such.

    Just spoke to Audi and they want ...................wait for it.......... £150 to scan with VAGCOM!

    WTF???
     
  10. Soot1

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    69
    Are you saying it's ok with the binnacle out and playing up when you fit it back in?
     
  11. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    91
    I'm saying that with the binnacle taken out for a few hours and then put back in, it worked ok. Still lights up all over the place (warning lights) and the dEF fault on the speedo screen says "dEF".
     
  12. Soot1

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    69
    Loom or plugs squashed against metal parts inside dash? It's a tricky one. Don't know what the "DEF" message means, hopefully someone on the forum will know later.
     

Share This Page